the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

And So Tasty, Too! 749

05.09.2005

8:15 pm

My recent brush with ... uh ... nasty things has left me with an overwhelming urge to eat whatever the hell I want. What I want right now is a crisp green salad with bleu cheese dressing, and that's what I'm eating. I got some of that fake crab stuff for dinner, and I may just have bleu cheese dressing with that, too. I haven't had the b.c.d. for well over a year now. It's goooooood. If I'm still alive by Friday, I'm going to have that whopper for dinner, too. Let the chips fall where they may. Ahem.

I went to work today, and I was probably the happiest to be there out of the 1900 or so people in the building.

The cat is staring at me. He can't believe I'm eating bleu cheese dressing, either.

.
.
.

It's a few hours later. As I was typing that last part, I had a weird moment or twenty, kind of like palpitations, which I think was caused by one of those intensely flashing "You Won!" things on a website just before I started to type. Yes, I'm a barrel of laughs. Anyway, I moved over to the couch and felt better and then I fell asleep and then the phone rang at six and scared the crap out of me and I was palpitating all over again, but just for a minute. I wouldn't say I feel normal, whatever that is, but I did eat the fake crab and I was just on the phone with the Sibs for an hour, and now I'm back. You didn't even notice I was gone.

I put together a quick little blog today at the huge rival blogger blogging site that I will link to here as soon as I come up with a clever little button for it. It's work-related, so I didn't really want it connected to d-land at all, and I don't know if anyone else will even be interested, but it occurred to me today that I might try to record the experience of being a librarian without a library, which is coming up in the future for me, at least for a while, so that's what it is. It was remarkably simple to set up and even get to look like I wanted it to look; what took forever was the title, or, more accurately, trying to come up with the Latin I wanted for the title. (I asked the Hubs on the phone if he knew anyone who could speak Latin, and he said, "You mean, besides you?") I am very good at recognizing Latin words when I see them and getting the gist -- it was my best subject in high school, what does that tell you -- but coming up with a prepositional phrase where the noun is both irregular and in the ablative case was not something that just rolled off the brain, as it were. Here's what I got:

S~ine Libe~llibus

Anyone? Anyone?

It's supposed to mean "Without Books." Please, please, if anyone out there can correct my grammar -- damn that ablative case -- please do so. Before Mrs. Heffler rises from the grave and raps my knuckles with a ruler.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Keith Olberman
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here