the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

My Crisis 753

05.12.2005

7:01 pm

The best laid plans, yada yada ...

Imagine my surprise at 9:00 last night when we sat down to watch Lost, and it was .... yes. The VCR had shut itself off. There was no Lost in Mudville last night. I hear it was a good one. If anyone has a tape you'd care to part with, think kindly thoughts of the poor little Chai weeping profusely in New Jersey. Thank you.

(R's friend in Wales has promised via email to burn it immediately onto a disc and post it at once. He downloaded last night's episode already -- such file downloading is not illegal there. Sounds like a Rube Goldberg transaction to me.)

Had another hectic day, in which we raced to find dyable shoes after school, and I am not going to the school play tonight since I have too much else to do. I started typing up my entry at work, although I'm posting from home, adding things as I go along and really, making no sense at all.

I feel that I have turned a corner somewhat on my illness situation -- no fun reading a hypochondriac's diary, eh? -- and that I'm finally feeling more better than worse. Which is good, because I plan to eat anything and everything I want to this weekend, and have a lovely weekend in general.

For those inclined, my library-without-books blog is here:



Like a real blog, but unlike a diary, it reads from the bottom up, so to speak. Since I still have books for now, what I'm writing is pretty much background at this point.

I met the construction manager this morning, who was quite nice, and he said I could come and take pictures whenever I want to, just stop by his trailer first and he'll give me a hard hat. Nice, but, eeuuw! They sell hard hats at Home Depot for $10, and I'd rather pick up my own, thank you! So in the coming weeks I may get to see what's happening from the inside, as it were.

My beautiful manicure is holding up unbelievably well. I was shifting books in fiction this morning, and there's not a scratch on any nail. I'm very impressed; I'm usually very hard on a manicure, which is why I don't generally bother. But this is cool. I feel all girly-like.

I'm so tired; I woke up maybe five times during the night last night. Even if I had the time to go to the play tonight, I'm sure I would fall asleep when the lights went out. It's a shame; I've missed very few of the drama club's plays in the last 15 years or so, maybe even longer. They do two a year, and I haven't missed more than three or four in all that time.

I have so much to do tonight that I haven't even made a list, which is unheard of for me. Best I start doing it, eh?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here