the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Would You Like to Play A Game? 761

05.20.2005

4:52 pm

I have seized this from chaosdaily, who was kind enough not to tag people but leave it up for grabs. Likewise.


  1. Total number of films I own on DVD/video: Given the opportunity, I will insanely collect things, and these days I collect DVDs more than anything else. I have about 230. This includes tv series as well as films. I've picked up more than half of these for less than $10 here and there, and several for less than $5. Finding good stuff cheap is part of the fun.

  2. The last film I bought: The last DVD I got was Gilmore Girls Season 3. The last one I bought before that was Bill Cosby Himself, a standup show that he did about 25 years ago. I watched it on TV when I was in labor with R.

  3. The last film I watched: I watched Star Wars I: The Phantom Menace on TV on Sunday.

  4. Five films that I watch a lot or that mean a lot to me: FIVE? There's a big difference between movies that are easy and that I will watch over and over and over, and movies that mean a lot to me. There's overlap, but they're not the same. Movies I will watch anytime they are on or I feel like watching on DVD include Murphy's Romance, Overboard, Moonstruck, and Mr. Roberts. I can probably add to the that The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance, and of course, the Harry Potters. Groundhog Day. Sense and Sensibility. Movies that mean a lot to me are more like The Color Purple, Gone With the Wind, Shadowlands, Chariots of Fire, Inherit the Wind. The movies that fall into both categories are Casablanca, The Grapes of Wrath, and To Kill a Mockingbird. I also like a lot of Hitchcock films; my favorites are North by Northwest, To Catch a Thief, and Rebecca.

I love movies. But you probably knew that by now.

And while I'm at it:

1. What made you happy this week? This is still this week! It was last weekend! It was meeting the 8 other diarista (+ That Man) in New Haven.
2. What made you sad? Thinking about not being in my library any more after next year, when I've been here in one way or another since 1968.
3. What made you angry? Richard and Emily Gilmore.
4. What are you looking forward to in the next week? I feel incredibly liberated from work right now for some reason, and I'm looking forward to a good weekend. Also, I dont' really have any appointments or anything after school next week until the pre-wedding haircut on Friday.
5. What are you not looking forward to? All the things I have to do before my Niece's wedding.

Really: if it's this much work for me when my Niece gets married, what will I be like when it's one of my own daughters?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here