the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Am I Catching Up Yet? 760

05.19.2005

7:06 pm

Look at my quool button! I had put one there yesterday (at the bottom of the page) but golfwidow sent me this neat one that changes. Thanks, golf!

It was a weird day at work. First the LCD projector died and the head of the IT department brought over a replacement all by his personal self. This guy is retiring, and is lately very, very good to us in the library. Not that he hasn't always been, for the most part -- he was a classroom teacher at the high school for years, and we would always on occasion just have a long talk about our kids or whatever -- but he's been really good to us, and just dropping by to kill time, it seems. In fact, he had given me another "new" (as in, new for me) laptop to use for a particular thing, and I ended up spending the rest of the day trying to get the program installed on it and the printer and camera and stuff. I'm not 100% there yet,but it's coming. It's hard to get the three or four year old printer to work with XP, but it's a special-function printer that prints ID cards and it was damn expensive and it's not about to be replaced, so I'd better get it to work. One of these days.

Tomorrow's an in-service day, so it's me and the SCM all by ourselves, pretty much. I wonder if he'll be offended if I listen to music all day, but he won't be if he thinks he can do it, too. Actually we do need to talk and work together, so I guess that's out. I can dream.

How my life has changed: I'm looking forward to having the chance to clean a little on Saturday. I guess I was used to living in clutter and ... okay, maybe it wasn't exactly squalor ... when the girls were little, but I'm not anymore, and the house just is not big enough for four grown people. We've got too much stuff. When was I ever eager to clean the bathroom?

So it seems that plenty of people saw The Movie last night. I overhead a funny conversation in the library during lunch today. A group of boys were sitting there, and I heard one ask the group "So who was Luke Skywalker's mother?" I looked up at him, stunned. I said "I guess you didn't go to the movies last night." He said "Huh?" There was silence, and finally one of the other boys said, "Uh ... Padme." And the first kid was like, "Oh, right." I mean, a teenage boy would have to be living under a rock (or in that pod thing on Lost) not to know this, having seen the movie or not. It's not like there's a question as to how the plot's going to turn out; I think we all know that. It's not exactly a spoiler.

Speaking of Lost, did it rock or what? R was at work last night, but she watched it this morning and called me at work right away because we have to share the Lost experience. With K, it's Harry Potter all the way. And thus a parent has a completely different relationship with each child, because each child is a different person. Voila.

I'm reading a book about RSS feeds. Sometimes I surprise even myself.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here