the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

And a Good Time Was Had By All 763

05.22.2005

5:12 pm

My day began most auspiciously, witness:

and then

and then

Wr've had cars before, and lots of them went over 100,000 (some of them before we bought them), but never MY car going over while I was driving it. Yay!

That was this morning at about 8:30, and I've managed to drive almost 100 miles since then. At noon, I took Hubs to the airport; he is now, as I type, in Chicago for a few days on business. YES! It is the first time for him ever to be out of the Eastern time zone. I guess he's really a big boy now! According to the flight tracker, his plane just landed minutes ago, so I won't be hearing from him for a couple of hours at least. Anyway, that was 30 or 40 miles up and down the Turnpike.

The girls and I then headed out to the supermarket, but took a detour first to see if a certain mall was open -- it wasn't, we have crazy blue laws here -- and we got lost/pleasantly meandered our way over hill and dale, back to the market. We like doing this and always have, just exploring places around here we really don't know, and sooner or later, we hit a familiar road and we're on our way home. A most pleasant ride, although it started to rain, and was comiing down pretty good by the time we parked at the market.

And did our thing, and got what we needed, and came out and pulled out of the parking lot and I said "I don't think the car sounds right" and we stopped in a Wendy's parking lot nearby and whaddaya know? A flat tire! A real flat-as-a-pancake tire!

I called AAA and to my amazement, there was a guy there in 15 minutes. Changed it like it was nothing. I stopped and put a little air in it and we headed home, but first ...

We couldn't give up the last stop on our tour, which was this totally cool new ice cream place nearby. Really neat! I got a coffee ice cream concoction to enjoy while we watch Attack of the Clones on TV tonight, since neither the girls nor I have seen it, and now we're a movie behind.

My real question is, will I get up for work tomorrow and just go about my business, or will I be completely thrown out of kilter by the Hubs not being here? We shall see, chickies, we shall see.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Troy's on, I'm not watching it
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here