the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Ready ... Steady ... 764

05.23.2005

6:47 pm

I forgot to post my picture of the star of yesterday's show:

Ain't she sweet? Just like a beige shoebox with wheels. She is apparently the star of my show for the week, since I'm taking her in for new tires on Wednesday and that just makes things so much more complicated. Then we're down to two cars/four people, three people with work to get to and one with multiple medical appointments. So I booked a rental for a few days; I'll pick it up tomorrow (before I go to pick up the Hubs at the airport) and drop it off Friday (between work and haircut). You know how it always seems to fall to the Mommy to sort out everybody's schedules and work out all the details? Yeah. I didn't feel like doing that. A little rental just made lots more sense.

The next two weeks are looming ahead of me like a big giant chore to be managed. And it is. I don't think there's a day I don't have to be somewhere or pick something up or get something done. (Airport Tuesday, tires Wednesday, Manicure Thursday, haircut Friday, pick up shoes Saturday.) Well, it seems there isn't a day.

The newest in bizarre wedding news is that there may be a rehearsal brunch the day before, but the groom's family has not invited anyone yet. And a brunch? Why don't I just move into the hotel where the wedding is for life, since now I guess I'm there from Saturday morning to Monday morning. Sheesh. I wonder if they could have made this less convenient. My girls are both bridesmaids and Niece has asked me to read something at the wedding, although I don't know what yet. I do hope I get to see it ahead of time, especially if it's from the Bible, because come on; the girl has never been in a house of worship in her life but someone has suggested a Bible reading. I think she's a little overwhelmed, and who wouldn't be. I have no complaints about her at all, not a one. I'm a little ticked over this rehearsal thing, though. Now I have to find something to wear to that, and give up all of Saturday, too.

We watched The Attack of the Clones on TV last night, which for my money could have been called Star Wars II: The Horribly Boring and Pointless Episode. Can anyone really sort out all the politics (or does anyone want to)?

I was very busy all day at work, mostly with computer stuff and then a meeting, but it's better to be busy than bored. Graduation is four weeks from tomorrow night. I can already taste summer.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Roseanne
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here