the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

This Weekend is Making Me Smile 769

05.28.2005

7:26 pm

As always I am happy for it to be Saturday, but every few hours or so I remember "Hey! No school Monday too!" and it's very groovy, man.

I have probably mentioned that my biggest wedding chore has been to make these scrapbook-thingies. Here's what that is. I had offered immediately upon engagement to make one of those poster-size things that stands on an easel and shows baby and growing up pictures for the couple, which the Niece said she would love. Later on, she began asking people to make certain things here and there that reflected their particular talents and which she would have as very personalized things for the wedding. She is a very loving and personal kind of person (if that means anything) and would rather have such things than actual gifts. Her mother, the needlepointer, made a pillow for the ring-bearer to carry. She asked if I would create a scrapbook to be the guestbook, and to put the baby pictures in there. The poster-board would have all different family pictures, not just of the two of them, but of everyone they love.

I'm on it, and I couldn't be happier to do it. Because I'm the family photographer, not to mention computer geek, I've got a zillion pictures of everyone, and millions of just the Niece, and they're all scanned in and labeled, just waiting to be plucked and printed for this little assignment.

Today I put the backgrounds in the books and got all my pictures printed. Oh, just one problem:

The groom's side has yet to give me any.

They are big, happy close family, but I guess they're not as into the pictures as we are. I've talked to the Niece about it many times, including just the other day, but I don't want to call her again and bug her. Her wedding's a week away, she's got stuff to do, and she knows they haven't given me pictures yet. She doesn't need more on her plate.

If I don't get them, well then, the guest book is boring, but she'll have one and people can sign in it, there just won't be any pictures except the one of the two of them. As for the poster, if I have to, I'll just put our family on it and give it to her as a kind of giant card, but it won't be showing anywhere at the wedding.

I'm crazy about her fiance and his family is really very, very nice. I think I was ticked off, though, when his mother sent me a thank you email for co-hosting the bridal shower. She sent me a thank you? The bride is my niece, my godchild. I'm sure she meant the thank you in the nicest way, but it had the effect of her pointing out that I am somehow not the Niece's immediate family, just an aunt. Perhaps I'm over-reacting, but I thought it was weird. It's also weird that this woman is apparantly hosting the rehearsal dinner next Saturday but hasn't told anybody when or where it is. It's possible that I'm not a part of that (being only an aunt), but I would think that R and K as bridesmaids would kind of need to know. The Sibs thinks it may be a Saturday brunch, but she doesn't know yet either. I wonder what they're waiting for.

I wore my sandals all afternoon and that made me smile, too. I am a sandal wearer! It only took 52 years!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching O.C. on DVD
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here