the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Just a Word or Two 775

06.03.2005

10:13 pm

It's 10:15, which is way late for me to update, but it's been a busy day, for a change, and then R was finally willing to watch HP/Azkaban, so we went for that. (When she said she wanted to watch it, I got to quote Harvey Fierstein from Mrs. Doubtfire: "Honey! I thought you'd never ask!" because K and I are all about the HP and R is not.)

I could not begin to recount my day, so I'll just sum up the happiest parts, which all took place between 2:45 and 3:30. I stopped by the service station to see if they could identify the horrible shriek that my car has been making since I had it serviced last week, and they did so at once (adjust fan belt tension) and fixed it and the noise went away and it was heaven! Each time I'd hear it, it sounded like the knell of my little car's imminent death, but that was not to be. So I was happy.

My cassette player has also not been working, and while I was driving around enjoying the non-shriek, I thought that maybe it was the cassette adapter thing I was using and not the player, and if only I had another cassette to test, but I have no cassettes. And then I remembered that I had Steinbeck's Travels With Charley on cassette actually in the car because I tried listening a couple of weeks ago and couldn't get into it at all and just left it there. So I popped in a tape to test it, and not only does the cassette player work, I started to love to listen to it.

In summary:
no shriek
cassette player not broken
enjoyed some nice Steinbeck

Then I came home.

No, things are fine here. Whatever was going on between the girls is patched up, and we finally all have everything we need for the rehearsal tomorrow and the wedding on Sunday.

I may not get to update until Monday; I'm bringing a laptop with me to the hotel but I have no idea when I'll get to use it. Oh, I probably will update, I just don't know when.

Good weekend, all.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching gong to bed in a minute
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here