the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

A Step in the Right Direction 786

06.14.2005

7:57 pm

Yesterday's crisis is semi-resolved; I got the phone number I needed, but the birthday girl wasn't home. I left a message and promised to call back over the weekend.

I fell asleep on the couch last night a little after 8 and slept, more or less, until 10:30, at which point I got up and went to bed. And slept so well that I was all achy when I got up, as if I hadn't moved all night and was stiff from being in one position for so long. I never even woke up once, which happens to me maybe twice a year, if that. So, worthy of mention. Sleep is such a good thing.

The heat was unbearable again today. I am wearing a sundress tomorrow (I know!), assuming it still fits because I haven't worn it since Hector was a pup. But it's a very pretty, blue batik lightweight dress; I always liked it even though I was never much for wearing it. And sandals.

Speaking of which, when I popped out of bed with a whole headful of clarity this morning, I started to think about what I want to do with this summer, and it's all good stuff for me. (Which includes keeping my house clean, which is something for me, when you're me.) I'm going to exfoliate and use sunscreen, among other useful things. And movies, either going to them, even if it's by myself, or catching up on videos I want to see. In fact, I think I may watch The Merchant of Venice tonight, which is sitting here on DVD. Which means my head is uncharacteristically clear for me at 8:00 on a weekday evening.

Tomorrow night is the end of the year faculty dinner, which I could totally pass on, but the Chum likes to go, so I go to. After she retires next year, I can skip it, I guess unless someone I'm close to retires (retirees are honored at the dinner.) Over the next few years, that should be less and less people each year. I think that as of next week, there will be ten people at the high school with more seniority than I have, and after next year there will five or fewer. Of the four people retiring this year, one was my own high school guidance counselor, but the other three have less time at my high school than I do (although they had previously taught in other schools or districts.) That may still leave a handful of people who are older than I am, but who have fewer years teaching, or fewer years in my district. When did this all happen, eh?

Okay, Shylock awaits. Anon.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching DVD splash screen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here