the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Mission Un-accomplished 785

06.13.2005

7:13 pm

I had one thing to do today, just one thing that I needed to do. And I knew about it for years, and I remembered to do it, too. I just forgot one little detail.

When I was a wee one, we lived in a garden apartment (are they called that outside of New Jersey?), upstairs. When I was about three, a new family moved into the downstairs apartment, so we shared a front door and a hallway. They had a little baby, six months old. I remember seeing her being pushed around in a baby carriage.

Our mothers became best friends, our families became close, and although she and I are no longer close close, she is my oldest friend, two and half years younger than I am. She lives in Long Island now, and has for many years. We talk once a year or so, maybe not even that much. But when I have a significant birthday, she calls. And my only job is to call back on hers, two and a half years later.

Today is her 50th birthday.

I do not have her phone number.

I have had a note on my desk reminding me to call her for weeks; you'd think I could have emailed her mother before today to make sure I had the right phone number. I knew that she'd moved, but I assumed it was locally. When I called just before, I got the "call cannot be completed as dialed."

I am pissed off at me. I should have checked. I emailed her mother just now, and asked her to convey my birthday wishes and send me her phone number. But I know that on my 50th birthday, I knew that Lori would call and I looked forward to it and she did. And she is expecting me to call and I tried and I want to. And she will be disappointed, as I would have been. So I know how she feels.

Bummer. I hope her mother checks her email sometime this week.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here