the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Where Was I? 789

06.18.2005

6:54 pm

I've had a nice quiet Saturday. I went to Costco around noon, what a mistake, and I was prepared to wait on line to pay, but not to be unable to get around the aisles to get to what I wanted because the lines were so long they congested all the aisles. So I left. I'll go back next week on a weekday morning after I'm not going in to school. (Yay!)

I took a nap this afternoon and had some very weird dreams. I was at K's new apartment building in DC, but she didn't live there, I did, and Jerry Seinfeld was my roommate. I was trying to get back into my apartment, but first, I waited with a bunch of other people to get on the elevator and there were buttons for every floor except the third, which was mine. I was panicking because there was no button for the third floor, and then another man waiting just reached over and pushed it. It was right there but I didn't see it. Then I was on the third floor and sitting on some kind of chair with wheels (but not a wheelchair) and I couldn't remember my apartment number, although I had my keys. So I was riding around the hallways calling out softly "Jerry? Jerry?" because I didn't want to disturb anyone else. Oh, also, at some point in the dream (but not this point, I think) I was wearing the green outfit I wore to my niece's wedding. It was not a restful nap; in fact, I woke up all groggy and more tired than when I lay down.

We're going to the SIL's tomorrow afternoon, which is only about a half hour away, north. This was a brilliant move on her part, because I guess there was otherwise a possibility of some or all of us going down to the ILS, which is an hour and a half down the Garden State Parkway, south, which is simply insane on a summer Sunday, since that's where the shore is and that's how everybody -- and I mean everybody -- gets there. So the ILS are driving up here to us around noon, and we'll all journey north together for 1:00. That cuts a little bit of driving out for the MIL, which really, she shouldn't have to do at all, she hates it, but the FIL can't really drive anymore because of his back and hip problems. Which is all by way of saying that the ILS are stoping by here tomorrow, so I've been cleaning.

I want to hire someone to come to my house every week and clean the bathroom. Nothing else. I can handle the rest of it. I just want someone to keep the shower doors clean, and the tiles in the shower. Is that too much to ask? I so hate doing that. Not that the MIL is going to check and see how clean my shower is. (I don't think so, anyway. And what am I, like, 9 years old?)

I could just go right to sleep now. But I fear the calamari is not sitting well. Ah, it was a risk anyway. It was worth it.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching TV Land
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here