the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

And Freedom Tastes Like ... ? 792

06.21.2005

7:31 pm

It's a little unreal, to tell you the truth. There is always a day for staff only, the day after graduation, but that has been eliminated this year for some reason. So I'm home, although graduation is not over, but my duty there is, so I left, as I do every year. If I go outside and turn up my volume, I can probably hear the public address system from the stadium, which is only about a half mile away in a straight line, although it's more than that if I walk. Regardless, my work year is at an end, and I'm home. I barely managed to catch the Chum and say good-bye for the summer, since she'll probably be in Maine by tomorrow night and won't return until Labor Day. I never saw the SCM tonight at all. That missing day tomorrow provides a sense of closure which I don't have now, and I know several other people feel the same. So that feels weird.

So tomorrow I begin my self-improvement plan, or at the very least, my vacation. It starts with a trip to the dentist, and maybe a movie. I have A Man and A Woman, a classic French film which was all the rage in 1966 or so, when it came out. I saw it then -- I was 13 -- and I remember that I liked it very much. One of the things I'm doing with the online rental thing is looking for movies I saw ages ago and liked, or missed ages ago. Or classics, when I can get them. I do get the occasional current movie -- I have Kinsey here, too -- but I like old movies best.

On the subject of yesterday's coffee obsession, I was drinking my coffee/vanilla soy milk pseudo latte this morning when the barista came into the room and I told her what it was and she said "Oh, a cafe au lait." So that's what it is, I guess. It's not steamed milk, and it's a fair amount of milk along with the coffee, so it's a cafe au lait. I can live with that. It's not like I won't be going out and getting an actual latte somewhere an hour later. It's just one less trip out for coffee first thing in the morning.

Speaking of which, I have already turned off my alarm, which means nothing because I have gotten up before the alarm for weeks, if not months. But today I slept until ten of six, which is almost alarm time. Maybe tomorrow I can sleep until six, and then make progress from there.

And I'm 350 or so pages into OoP. Good times.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here