the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Where'd Everybody Go? 791

06.20.2005

7:07 pm

Which is not to say you're not all still there, somehow, but it seems that lately people are fleeing d-land like refugees out of war-torn Europe. Just looking for a better, safer place to live. I can see myself on notify lists right and left. Oh, I'm starting to get the RSS (or XML, is that what it's called?) feed thing, but I'm still not great with it. It works very well if you're using the Firefox browser, I think, but for some reason that doesn't work real well on my computer. It works great on Boo's computer, where R set it up, but I only use that sometimes, so I can't really on it for my daily diary fix.


But the real question is, where is everybody going? I mean, how do you know which other hosting site is good for what you want, similar to d-land in the good ways while avoiding the crap that bothers everyone? I have a live journal site, which I almost never use anymore (I only write there when I am in a black mood, which is fortunately rarer these days), and I use blogger for the soon-to-be-a-library-sans-books site (button below). I like blogger very much for what it is and the way I use it there, but I don't think I'd like it for my actual diary.

If I could, I'd host the diary on my own site, but whenever I've looked into that, it seemed mega-complicated, the kind of thing I might maybe figure out how to do it once and set everything up and then I'd need to get back in and tinker and I wouldn't remember what to do. I can't really imagine that I'll be getting sharper with age, so that kind of thing is out.

I took a look at typepad today, and I'm thinking, maybe. Although in truth, I'm not having a lot of the problems other people are, not yet anyway. I already host my images elsewhere, so I don't really need supergold, although I have it. Do I? Is that where the comments are? I like the comments. I didn't like the guestbook when I used that. And I haven't quite figured out how one sets up a notify list without Andrew and his merry band of mischief makers.

I can't tell if I'm ranting here or just whining. Or both. Or panicking. Or jumping on a bandwagon.

Okay, it's ranting, but not in the angry way. More in the I-don't-know-what-I'm-talking-about kind of way.

I'm also on a coffee binge, but I only drink decaf, so that doesn't explain anything either. This morning I went out at 6:15 to the Dunkin' (one of the four in town, plus there are two more on the outskirts; we're talking four square miles here) and got two medium decaf caramel lattes, skim milk, no whipped cream. I came home and drank one, then nuked the other for about 15 seconds and took it off to work with me at 7:00. Some mornings, I go to Starbucks, which is in the town next door, where the Sibs lives. I'm in training to spend my entire pension on coffee. I've got to figure out how to make this stuff at home. I do have an actual barista living here with me, so training's not the problem, but buying an espresso machine, which I have no room for anyway, really defeats the point. Ah well.

I just made strong coffee in a french press pot and heated and frothed some vanilla soymilk and poured that in. I'm really not sure about this, at all. The only thing that I probably can say for sure is that I drink too much coffee.

*sigh* And I read too much Harry. I'm finishing a fanfic that K sent me the link for, and last night I started The Order of the Phoenix again. But I'm not complaining, only laughing at me. 50 is like a liberation point: I can do whatever makes me happy, even if it's just drinking coffee and reading Harry because, why not? Getting old's gotta have its perks too, man

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here