the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

In Summer Mode 795

06.24.2005

7:47 pm

I was saying the other day that school being over had a somewhat unreal quality this year, which it did, a feeling which the Sibs echoed last night after her own last day. But my brain has definitely moved into summer mode, that sort of lethargic mind-state where things just happen, drifting easily from one to the other. It's not that I haven't been doing things; of course I have because otherwise I'd just be staring at the walls all day. But I have made no lists. This is significant for me; it's even more summer-mode than ever before. I have a couple of post-its on my desk, but that's it. The few things I need to pick up at CVS tomorrow (post-it #1) and the time I have to go back to the dentist tomorrow to get the crown stuck back in (post-it #2). One letter to mail.

I took Boo-Boo, the elderly gentleman cat, to be bathed today; they ended up having to shave off a bunch of mats and stuff. I'll need to take him every four weeks or so from now on because he just can't groom himself that well anymore. He's very good there, and mushes right up into the groomer's arms, which endears him to her. When I picked him up, she asked me an interesting question: Is he blind? Ah. No, he's not blind, but if he were a human, he'd be wearing inch-thick glasses. His eyes are his weak spot, other than being beautifully blue. I guess at home, where everything is familiar to him, he doesn't appear to us to be blind, although we know he doesn't see well. He's so beautifully clean and soft and mat-free now. I've got to keep that up.

The U.S. Mail, in all its glory, has misplaced a package I sent to K last week, which had in it, along with the mandatory Pez, her allergy medicine. I am pissed off, only more so because the mail babe at the window was -- surprise! -- rude to me about it. As if I must have lost it someplace, because they certainly couldn't have. At least when I called this morning and spoke to the mail babe in charge, she was pleasant and said she'd put a tracer on it. But really. I mean, you put something in a mailbox, you expect it to be mailed, to arrive. In this case, I could truly have walked to D.C. in less time and handed the kid the bottle; I certainly could have driven there and back in a day, since I've done that a whole bunch of times. I sent the replacement bottle today priority mail and with insurance. I wonder if that one will ever get there.

I made some changes on my quotations page (link above) and they're not showing up. What's that all about? It looks fine when I go back to the editing page, but the corrections simply do not appear.

The AFI 100 greatest movie quotations show the other night was really like a feast in this house, where we inhale movies and breathe them out again in quotations and one-liners. A good time was had by all, and we're still arguing over what should have been there (or not there), our personal favorites, and so on. Which is how I came to make some corrections and additions to my quotations page, but you'd never know it. Someday, perhaps.

And this weekend, the huge Degrassi marathon, which is already on and running. I'll read a book, this time, I think.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Degrassi
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here