the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

My Bad 796

06.26.2005

4:28 pm

I didn't write yesterday because I was all caught up in the world of HP fanfic again, reading something that was quite long and when I was done it was too late to think of anything else. Part of me thinks it's very goofy to read this stuff, but then last night I remembered that I used to read a lot of Star Trek novels back some time ago -- ten years, maybe -- and what was all that really but fanfic that was lucky enough to get published. Not everything has to be Hemingway, and I don't read bestsellers or mysteries or any of that stuff that other people seem to read in huge quantity. So this is my entertainment, and so be it.

I finally connected by telephone this morning with that old friend I've been trying to reach for her 50th birthday. (I've been trying every few days; she's either very busy or screens or calls or both.) Anyway, we had a lovely conversation, which is something for someone you don't talk to more than once a year, if that. But I guess we have known each other for almost 50 years, so that counts for something. She invited me to come and visit one day this summer -- she lives in Long Island -- and perhaps I will.

I napped so oddly yesterday, drifting in and out for about two hours in the afternoon, and again for about a half hour late at night, and then I couldn't fall asleep until three a.m. I tried to sleep around one, but there was some odd noise in the room -- the Hubs rolled over and said "Your cell phone made a noise" -- but my cell phone wasn't even in the room, and although there was no power out in the house, I noticed that the streetlights had all gone out. (I looked out the window but saw neither McGonagall, either in cat or human form, nor Dumbledore with his putter-outer.) Anyway, that was enough of a disturbance and conversation to wake me all up, so then I was. I could see out the back family room window that the streetlights were out on the street behind me, too, but that houselights were on elsewhere. No idea what that was.

Speaking of my cell phone, it is broken. I have no idea how this happened, or when, because I've just been assuming that there were some functions I didn't know how to access -- like reading a text message when I get one -- but I tried to make a call yesterday, which I should be able to do, and the 1 and 8 and send buttons didn't work. I dashed over to the T-Mobile store etc. etc. and they're going to send me a replacement phone, which I should have by Wednesday. Then I think I'll go back to the store and let them explain to me how stuff works on it. It's a very cool phone with all kinds of features and a separate keyboard and a camera, and I got it through Amazon with an amazing rebate so it cost me, literally, less than nothing. Still, it should work, I think, no?

Curiously, I am remarkably inept when it comes to cell phones. I understand them well enough -- they guy in the store yesterday started to explain how he could save my phone book on the SIM card and I just said "Oh, right, got it" and stopped him, because that makes sense to me -- but I am inept when it comes to making them work. For one, they require a certain speedy dexterity that I lack. The phone rings -- now what do I do? Press ... what? A different ring for text messages, okay, got it, but then it rings and I'm all "What was that? Did you hear that sound? What was it?" until someone says "Uh, it was YOUR PHONE." Oh, sorry. I got very good at taking pictures and sending them, but could never figure out how to open up a picture that someone sent me. I have one picture on the phone that R sent me, but she had to open it up and save it for me there.

I have a walking plan for tomorrow. I'll let you know.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here