the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Mayberry, USA 800

06.30.2005

5:38 pm

As if I live in a village of 400 and not a suburb of 30,000, the good news is spreading, mouth to mouth, at the speed of light. When the Colleague told me about the Psycho's retirement yesterday, and we shrieked together on the phone for ten minutes, she said she only knew because the Psycho had told one secretary, who told her. When I called the Chum in Maine to spread the happy story, I reminded her to keep it quiet until it was confirmed by another source, so that the Colleague would not be identified as the leak.

This afternoon, I was at the cleaner's and ran into a former Junior Class officer and his mother, who said to me "So, you heard today's news? Are you surprised?" Well, surprised that it was apparently the lead story on the CNN newscrawl this morning, but otherwise, no. So now, everyone knows. I immediately called the FIL (who, as the former head of the school system, had once specifically not hired the Psycho when she applied for another principalship before he retired) and told him. I told my nephew J2, who had been personally and specifically screwed over by the Psycho, and I'll call his twin sister, Wonderful Niece, after dinner.

This is fun.


I walked nearly three miles in the mall this morning, no hassles, no problems. (And that was about the same distance yesterday, too.) I am totally on a roll. It feels very good, and mall walking is so far the most painless walking there is. Not in terms of actual pain, I've got that, but it's very easy to do. There's always something to look at, the path is so familiar that I just put myself on auto-pilot and go. Also I was happy to learn this morning that the mall sounds do not drown out the music I'm playing for myself. And another thing that makes mall walking so easy, something I'd never even considered before, is that there are restrooms (of course)! Because I generally need one so often, walking in the park or even on the streets can be problematic, but so far, I'm a convert to this whole thing. And I'm eating much better, too. It feels like I've found my motivation again, or maybe the motivation has found me.

Things, at the moment, are definitely looking up.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here