the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Oy 801

07.01.2005

7:42 pm

Do my feet hurt. The walking is fine, but I have got to find me the right pair of shoes to wear. I'll try a different pair tomorrow, the ones I wore when I walked in the school corridors in the winter. They will look very goofy with shorts and tank top, but if my feet don't hurt, I won't care. Although I'm on the lookout for the right shoes.

Here's an amusing picture:

The big red square is roughly where the new library will be. The little red x is where my parking spot was for the last ten years. So I guess I'm not really moving very far.

I slept soooo weirdly last night. I've been zombied all day, but I did walk, although I didn't do much else.

It doesn't so much feel like a holiday weekend to me. This used to be one of our big family holidays; we always had a barbecue and it was pretty loose; we invited anyone who was around and wanted to come. A lot of the family pictures I've posted here were from July 4 barbecues. We tried to keep it up as long as my parents were still alive, but it got harder and harder as all the kids moved farther and farther away. I'm thinking of reviving it for next year; even if nephew J1 doesn't come from California, his sister is married and his brother has a significant other and my kids are both living in this country now and will, god willing, have boyfriends by next year, so that would be a sizable group. I would love to do that, or maybe even Niece will have it, although her yard is even smaller than ours. But it would be fun to bring that back.

I'm in for an evening of watching and taping Degrassi. My life is so exciting!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here