the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

The Fourth 803

07.04.2005

11:28 am

I have a feeling that the half-blood prince is Neville. I don't know why, and K says I'm crazy. But Hagrid would be nice, too. And he is, as we know, half-blood. I just can't wait.

There is a new cable TV channel available, which we are amazingly receiving, called Logo. It's not a premium channel, but it is digital, so you would need to have digital cable to get it, or maybe it's on satellite. Anyway, it's a gay-themed network, and it's quite interesting to watch. I've watched it a bunch since Friday (when it started), mostly I think because it's not the same thing that's on every other channel so it's something different to look at. (Although they are showing a TVLand special, which I'd already seen. All of them, it seems, are owned by MTV.) Golf, if you get this channel, you must watch for the penguin commericial. It's very cute, two men -- a couple -- in tuxedos standing at the penguin habitat at the zoo watching two similarly dressed male penguins, also a couple. (Since it has been recently discovered that male penguins will sometimes "mate" with each other.) It's a very cute commercial, and so far, worthwhile TV watching.

We are having what amounts to a fourth of July meal here, just the Hubs and R and I, which we haven't done in some time. I picked up hot dogs and tofu dogs yesterday and corn on the cob and even beer (non-alcoholic for me), and the Hubs has actually decided to fire up the barbecue. Really, he hasn't done that in years, and since it's a charcoal barbecue, that's out of my range.

He also dropped what amounts to a big bombshell yesterday, announcing that this winter he will tackle the basement. Wow. That means that he will throw things out, which is always a life-altering experience for him, and that the basement will perhaps become a usable room. I've worked on the basement every summer for the past three or four years, but it just never sticks. All I need is for one kid to come home from college, or pack up to go to Europe, and it's shot. I'm also limited by the size and amount that I can carry up the stairs. The cleanest the basement ever was was in 1999, when it flooded after a hurricane and I just shoveled stuff into black garbage bags and the Hubs carried them out. But we've acquired a lot of crap since then, most of it the girls'. I'm very excited that he's going to work on the basement. (Or, for that matter, anything inside the house, which he doesn't do unless it's his own little personal space. He's one of those husbands.)

I decided last night to abandon my plan to adjust my body clock, since I've been succesfully staying up until midnight but still waking up at five. I went to bed at 9:30. What a fine plan; every neighboring town was blasting fireworks for the next hour and all I could hear, even with my good ear in the pillow, was pop-pop-pop-BOOM as if they were shooting them off right over our house.

I'm still very motivated to mall walk, and I have been going every day (except yesterday when the mall was closed) but I have got to find out why my legs are still so sore. My feet are fine now because I got wonderful shoes, but the strain on my legs is terrible. I'm going to go hit the Prevention magazine walking site and *gasp* a book, and see what I can come up with.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here