the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Ooh, a Game 802

07.02.2005

4:50 pm

I saw this over on Boxx's page, but I got tagged by Cosmic. The idea is to list 5 things that society in general apparently enjoys or tolerates but that I just don't get.


  1. NASCAR - I understand that this is the most popular sport in the country. I don't even understand how it's a sport. It's cars endlessly going around in a circle, unless one of them crashes. Totally lost on me.

  2. Drinking alcohol - This is going to be a strange one, because to most people, it's just there and it's part of life. I do understand the attraction of being buzzed or high or whatever. I don't understand people, kids especially, who are so into this that it runs their lives. (I'm not talking about alcoholics; that's an illness, I understand that.) That people would actually risk their lives, and the lives of others (by driving or being otherwise irresponsible) because they think it's their birthright as humans to drink alcohol to the point of impairment. I don't get that.

  3. Cruelty - We give this lip-service and everybody says it's wrong but it never ends. I find it particularly impossible to understand how people can commit acts of cruelty against children, but just in general, I don't understand how anyone has the nerve to take another person's life or destroy another person's happiness. Does society tolerate this? Apparently so, on some level; I don't see it being stopped in any effective way.

  4. Britney Spears - There can't be anyone who needs this one explained. In fact, I can throw in Paris Hilton here, two for the price of one.

  5. Bad grammar - People seem to take a certain kind of weird pride in using incorrect grammar, almost as if it proves they're not elitist intellectual snobs or something. Related, but not the same, is the way our Fearless Leader pronounces the word "nuclear" the way Homer Simpson does: "nuke-u-lar". Why do people persist in taking pride in appearing stupid? (Oh wait, now we're back to Britney. Sorry.)

I don't know who else I would tag that hasn't already been, but anyone who wants play, feel free.

The opposite would be things in society that I enjoy or tolerate (along with some other people) but that I know that some other people don't:


  • I like baseball, which I think is poetic and beautiful, but a lot of people think is boring.

  • I like showtunes. So sue me.

  • I have grown very tolerant, if that's the right word, of tattoos and people with them. I used to have the same pre-conceived notions as everyone else (Hell's Angels, etc.) Becoming aware of the end of a stereotype makes one nicely aware of the pointlessness of most other stereotypes. But society at large seems to enjoy them, and still places a certain meaning on the tattooed.

  • Manners. I enjoy people with good manners, especially children and teenagers (but that's probably just because I spend so much time with them). I appreciate good manners in everyone. I think that reality TV, and MTV, among other things, are making manners an endangered species. (Along with good grammar, btw.)

  • The Constitution of the United States. What a cool thing that was, and is. And look at how many people think that they can make it say whatever they want, or ignore it completely. I think that's where the major threat to our country is, not from terrorists, but from within. If anyone wants to take us down, that's the way to do it.

A little intense there for a bit. Well.


I'm almost glad the mall is closed tomorrow (we still have Blue Laws here in Bergen County, NJ of all places) because my feet and legs are still so achy. But I'm having a pedi tomorrow (now that's open, for some reason) just for the massage, and then I'll walk again on Monday. I did get better shoes this morning, so I'm hoping that will make a difference. Other than that, things are quiet Chez Chai. I have noticed that the funk, if that's what it was, that I was in at the beginning of the week seems to have passed, which is way good.

Okay, good holiday all!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Zelig
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here