the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is? 812

07.14.2005

11:19 am

I'm falling victim to that summertime phenomenon in which I do virtually nothing all day, yet time passes and before I know it, I'm falling asleep. As a result, I did not write an entry yesterday. I have no idea why.

Well, now that we've gotten new tires and an oil change for one of the old clunkers, the other one is starting slowly today. Maybe it's the battery -- I don't think so -- and maybe it's the starter. Gah. I hate these old cars. If it's not one thing, it's another.

I'm going to the optometrist in a little while. I think I'm the only adult I know whose glasses prescription changes every year. It probably has something to do with the different surgeries I've had on my eyelid, and now that I'm all done with that, it's still settling into place, or maybe it's settled now. The astigmatism seems to be entirely gone, and my distance vision has improved to the point of not needing glasses at all for that. But my close-up vision just gets worse and worse, and I need stronger glasses for that every year. I don't like reading a book and having to hold my glasses in juuuust the right place with one hand so I can see through the perfect little sweet spot at the bottom of the lenses. Glasses are supposed to be hands-free devices, I think. Anyway, I'll use the same frames I have, just get new lenses.

And the dentist tomorrow. I'm livin' the high life here, folks!

*1 day!*

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here