the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

How I Spent My ... 814

07.16.2005

8:30 pm

28th wedding anniversary, in fact. Which we don't make a deal of, big or small. The Hubs gave me, of all odd things, a couple of little framed prints, which I like. I think he's found a store someplace that does framing or sells prints, and so he gets gifts there. I don't know. Anyway, these are cute little engravings, a coffee pot and a tea pot, but oddly, they're not framed to match, although clearly the prints match. So I may get one of them re-framed, but I like them. I gave him the first two seasons of Quincy M.E. on DVD, an old fave.

Harry Potter Day. My pre-ordered book actually didn't arrive until about two o'clock, which I think sucks, but the Hubs had come home from the office around 10:30 (which meant I now had a car), so I went to the supermarket and bought a copy. By two, I had already read ... I don't know, 200 pages? At the moment, yes, I have two copies of the book, but I'll put one into the library's collection, so that's okay. And the third one -- assuming R gets to bring home a Mary GrandPre signed copy in a couple of days -- will just sort of be displayed in the living room, more like a knickknack than a book, if you know what I mean.

And I read the book. No spoilers here, let me just say that I found it to be a most satisying Harry Potter experience. When I was done, I called K and we dissected it for about an hour. Also a satisfying experience.

And now, for my return to the real world. Tomorrow, food shopping. Monday ... I don't know, cat claw clipping? Where's a magic wand when you need one?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Sex and the City
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here