the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Because What We Really Needed Was? 815

07.17.2005

6:36 pm

Another old car, of course! R and I got back from shopping and stuff this afternoon, and Wonderful Niece's car was in our driveway. Naturally, we thought that meant she was in the house, but we were wrong. She had already been and gone. It seems she got a new car -- her first ever, yay! -- and before she junked her car, she thought we might want it. (Because she is that thoughtful a person.) Anyway, this was actually my father's car, which became hers when he died two and half years ago. It's a 1988 Oldsmobile. Yes, the car is basically 18 years old. I haven't checked the mileage yet, but it's got to be well over 100k; it probably had over 60k when she got it and she's been commuting two hours a day back and forth to school since then. If nothing else, we'll keep it for a couple of days while we figure out what's up with R's car. I'll take a picture tomorrow so you can all laugh at me. (Yes, I'll be driving it for now.)

Looks like I will be going down to D.C. in a couple of weeks to help K move. By "help" I don't mean physical labor, except in the most minor way. What she really needs is someone over 25 to rent the truck. So that's me, as the other girl's family is in Maine, which is even farther. I was hoping to get R to come with me so I wouldn't have to drive alone, and she may yet do that, but K suggested yesterday that alone or together, we just take the train. Oooooh, I like that. I haven't taken the train (except briefly, in the U.K.) in a long time, and I like trains. If I drive, I can bring her stuff for her new apartment (jumbo packs of paper towels and toilet paper), but as she pointed out, they sell toilet paper in D.C. and she can always get some. The train sounds like fun, especially since I won't have to bring much in the way of luggage. So I'm thinking about that one.


I took this picture last week, but I kept forgetting to post it:

This is my beautiful little boy cat in one of his new favorite obsessive locations: right on my desk, under the lamp ("Do you feel heat on the back of your neck?") so that I either cannot see the screen, or cannot use the mouse, or both. But he's so pretty.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Prisoner of Azkaban
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here