the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Don't You Just Hate It ... 824

07.26.2005

7:52 pm

when you get a really different haircut and nobody who looks at you notices, or says "Hey! Nice haircut!"

Now I look even more like this

but it's even shorter. So far I really really like it, but of course I haven't washed it and tried to do anything with it myself yet. I am basically hopeless with hair. I was inept during the French Braid Panic of the eighties, when every little girl including my two had to have french braids as a matter of daily routine.

My sister, who came with me to the salon, said something when I was done because I asked her how she liked my haircut and she said it was good. Neither R nor the Hubs said anything. I think he actually does not notice my hair at all. I asked him once if he liked a certain style I was wearing, and he said he liked every hairstyle I'd ever worn, starting with the Indian braids I wore in high school. So that's very sweet, but it's a major cop-out, no? It's masquerading as a compliment, but it's really his license never to notice.

I came to the bizarre realization yesterday that I will never have a full head of gray hair. Now, some people might celebrate this, but gray is one of my favorite colors, and I think great gray hair in a short style is very striking on an older woman. I like the way my hair is graying, but I'm 52 years old and I have gray temples, but otherwise just strands here and there, not even pepper-and-salt. I think if I were ever going to be all gray -- before I'm 80, that is -- I'd be a lot grayer now. I have my mother's hair, and when it grew back after the chemo and she wasn't allowed to dye it, it turned out that only the front was gray and the whole back of her head was still brown-black. It looked great, actually, but I think it means I'm never going to have that all-gray short hair that I crave. I know, you all think I'm crazy. Well then.

I was in school today, and I made an appointment to speak to the new principal next week, mostly about the website and his approval to put certain things on it, but his secretary is a moron and since his first day in the new school looked open, she put me in for that morning. Duh. Now I'm going to look like some kind of over-anxious, over-eager nutcase who had to see him right away! Which is not the case; I could have waited until the next day. (Really, I need his approval for a couple of things that should have been posted last week.)

They're going to start showing The Golden Palace on Lifetime next week. Are you all as excited as I am?

.
.
.

Actually, although I am a Golden Girls addict, I have seen very few episodes of this sequel series, but there's one I'm waiting for because the last time I saw it, it was an extremely surreal experience. First, it was the episode in which there's a dream sequence in which every character, including Sophia and the ones played by Cheech Marin and Don Cheadle, is pregnant. And as if that isn't weird enough, I saw this episode in a hotel room in Cardiff, Wales, when the girls had gone out clubbing (or whatever) and I was alone in the room looking for something to watch and I found Sophia et al. pregnant.

In Wales.

On the German language channel.

My eyes bugged out and I kept looking wildly around the room, hoping that the girls would come back any second because I had to share this with them; it was Just. So. Weird! BTW, in German, Sophia sounds like a harsh and scary little general, barking out guttural orders to the others. It was creepy and ... okay, weird. Anyway, the girls were back in time to catch the last few minutes so they validated my out-of-country experience, and now that's the episode I want to see again.

Okay, enough of that. I thought I didn't have enough to say today even to write an entry. Just goes to show.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here