the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Another Slow Day 834

08.07.2005

7:13 pm

It's getting harder to write since my days are so slow they're practically grinding to a halt. Today I straightened up my desk, even though I sit here constantly so it's never too out of hand. I was very tired in the morning -- I walked, but not as far as I generally like to -- and I actually fell asleep on the couch around 10:30. I think the air quality must be bad today; that's what it feels like. It wasn't even that hot or humid feeling, but the air felt thick somehow.

K's all done with her summer classes and is coming home next weekend for a week. This is a kid who never sounds optimisic at the end of a semester.

"So, everything's done?"

"Well, I finished my paper and turned it in. It isn't even good, but it's done." (She says this one every.single.time.)

"At least you're done." (It took me years to learn to say that in response.)

Deep sigh. "I guess so. As long as I got a C, that's all I care about."

She will never voluntarily tell me her grades, and they're not mailed home anymore. Either she gets them in email from her professor, or she checks her records online. So, weeks later, I have to remember to ask.

"Oh, how'd you do in the class? Y'know, the one with the paper?"

Unconcerned. "Oh, A-." Or B+. Or A. Once in a blue moon, a B. That's pretty much the range of her grades. And she's been this way through high school, maybe earlier. It wasn't until then, at least, that I finally realized that she's a really good student. Before then, I believed her own negative hype.

I made fish for dinner, turbot, which I'd never made or had before. R didn't care for it; she seems to prefer a fish with more body, like tuna or swordfish. This was a very mild white fish; my parents only made white kinds of fish, but I haven't made it for maybe 25 years or more. It was very okay, not spectacular, but there was a lot left because R didn't have her full portion, and I ate it. Somehow, it still fell into my points range for today. My WW (since jyram asked) is going well/not so well. I'm having no trouble following the plan, eating my points range, keeping my food log. All of that is fine. I'm just not really losing the way I should be. I swear, I must have a ten pound fibroid in there somewhere. (Half kidding. I did have a checkup in January, and it's unlikely. But it could happen, right? A little snip snip and ten pounds gone? Please?)

And still, I could just go to bed right now, at 7:15. I guess I wouldn't sleep, but I feel like I would. Oh, I'd probably sleep great until 9:30, and then be up all night, So it's probably not a good idea, y'think?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here