the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

And It Was Good 840

08.12.2005

6:10 pm

I picked up some borscht this morning, and it was a nice 2 point snack when we got home from the movies. (And yes, right beside it on the shelf was the schav and it was as disgusting as I remembered it.)

R and I finally went to see Charlie and Chocolate Factory today; we went to see it in IMAX. I don't know how necessary that was, ultimately, but we both enjoyed the movie very much. In most ways, it was much more faithful to the book, and to tell the truth, Johnny Depp as Willy is much creepier in all the commercials that he was in the movie.

(I read the book in the late 60s, when I was in high school. My cousin, already a children's librarian, told me that I had to read it. I just looked at my copy, which is hardcover, and it was first published in 1964. The cover price is $3.95, so that'll give you an idea of how long I've had this particular copy, probably 35 years or so.)

I walked this morning, one lap with poles and one lap without, and on the way home from the park I started giving serious thought to how I'm going to try to keep this all up when school starts. If I wake up at 6:00 -- which I certainly will, if not earlier -- then there's a half hour in there somewhere to do something. I can walk, but in the neighborhood, since there won't really be time to drive anywhere. Or I could do a half hour of yoga as soon as I get up and then try to fit in a walk later. Of course, the easiest solution would be to walk to and from work, 15 minutes each way, and that would be 30 minutes of walking a day, which is all I really need. I don't know if I can see that happening, though. Although the only time left for a half hour walk would be in the afternoon, and how is that really different from walking home from work? (The carrying stuff, I guess. And I'd have to carry my lunch with me in the morning. So I'd need to carry a purse or wear a backpack. Which is a pain with a coat on. Oy.) But if I come home from work -- in the car -- I can unload everything, put on sweats or yoga pants, if I want, carry nothing but keys and a water bottle and the iPod and of course a pack of tissues, and go to the park. I can even use the poles. I can't see marching in and out of school every day with the walking poles.

I did do a half hour of yoga when I got home from the park this morning, and that was very good, too. I do modified yoga, which is pretty much modified for people who need help with balance or can't stretch all the way. It's very good; I just ordered a second DVD. So yoga in the morning is starting to look somewhat realistic.

My baby is coming home tomorrow for a week or so; YAY! Among other activities planned, we have theater tickets for Wednesday; the Hubs informs me that there's a hurricane a'comin', so, swell. It would figure that the one day in ten years that I go to the theater, there's a natural disaster.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here