the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Me In a Fog 843

08.15.2005

7:33 pm

I called my doctor today to see if I could switch over to that new sleeping pill that's out, but he never called me back. I hate when that happens. But the one I take, which is ambien, is not so much working for me, I think. I do sleep very well, but for an hour or two, and then I'm awake for a while, and then back to sleep, sleeping well. But when I wake up at six or so, I'm in such a fog that I don't even get out of bed for an hour, although I'm sort of awake and aware of my surroundings. Altogether I sleep for maybe six hours, which leaves me that foggy hour to work the rest of the pill out of my system. Which I think is going to be something of a problem in three weeks when my alarm goes off at six and I have to get up and go. I'll call the office again in the morning and hope that he calls back.

We had some storms here last night, athough not here in Bizarro Town. In three surrounding towns that actually touch us, there were storms so severe that trees came down and there are still thousands of people without power. They had to close down a college and a giant mall for the day. The Sibs, in one of the other towns, had power, but at 4:00 in the morning, the transformer on the pole outside her house exploded. And after that excitement, having gone back to sleep, they woke up to find that a tree had fallen down across the street and was laying in their driveway.

But the heat broke. Even so, I was just too foggy to walk this morning, or even yoga. (There must be a verb for that, no?) Gotta make myself go tomorrow, gotta.

And I've got a headache, too. So maybe it's a blood pressure thing after all, somehow. Maybe that's what I should tell the receptionist at the doctor's office, that I've got a blood pressure concern. Sounds a bit more important than "I need to change my sleeping pill prescription."

Bumper sticker I saw on a car this morning: If you aren't completely appalled, then you haven't been paying attention. Take a look here.

I'm so kvetchy today. My neck hurts. I'm foggy. I don't want to go back to school three weeks from tomorrow. I want pie. Pie, I tell you!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching VH1
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here