the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Tag, I'm It 847

08.18.2005

6:25 pm


But first: plotz is a Yiddish word -- what else? that in this context: "I could just plotz" means "I could just die" but it doesn't literally mean "die." More like dying from embarassment, or exhaustion, or laughter, or some such thing. According to my Yiddish dictionary, the word is "plats" and it means "Burst!" That's as good as anything I could come up with, or better.


At the request of LA, but seriously, I think this is a whole bunch of memes she smooshed up together. And somehow I got a real entry for today in there somewhere.

What was I doing 10 years ago? August, 1995. Earlier that summer, in July, I had gone to Los Angeles for my uncle's funeral, along with my mother and my sister, and I had brought K with us because R was away on a Girl Scout trip to Europe and I didn't think 11 was old enough to leave home alone all day every day, even with the Hubs being home at night. My mother already had a variety of unspecified ailments, which made walking through the airport difficult for her, among other things. In September, 1995, we found out that what she had was breast cancer that had already spread to her bones. (It's a downer answer, sorry.)

What was I doing 5 years ago? August, 2000. R had just finished her freshman year of college, so K was just starting her sophomore year of high school. Shirl's cancer was at that time, I believe, in a fairly stable place, although she was never getting any better, but at this point I think she wasn't having chemo and her hair had grown back. A few months later, around Christmas-time, was when K got sick and missed most of the rest of high school as a result.

What was I doing 1 year ago? August, 2004. This was possibly the best summer of my life. I was more relaxed and purposeful feeling than I had maybe ever been. I had lost 20 pounds and had stopped smoking a year earlier. I felt healthy and good. K was about to go off to Germany for a semester, and R was just about to come home after a year in Wales.

What was I doing yesterday? Had a great day yesterday. I wrote about it here.

What am I doing today? I woke up feeling a little discouraged, between having tried the new sleeping pill last night and still being awake for a while in the middle of the night and the whole general not-losing-weight thing. The girls drove south to spend an afternoon with the Hubs' parents and I went out and shopped a little and had lunch with the Sibs. The afternoon has been very quiet with no one else home. Feeling less bummed -- way less, actually -- than I was this morning.

Five snacks I enjoy: Sadly, I enjoy many snacks in which I no longer indulge.


  1. pie

  2. Hostess Orange Cupcakes

  3. Butterskotch Krimpets

  4. cheese (I still eat cheese)

  5. pie

Five bands I like: I'm stuck in the past. I probably can't even come up with five.


  1. The Beatles

  2. The Moody Blues

  3. Crosby, Stills, and Nash

  4. uh ...

  5. uh ...

Five things I would do with a million dollars: Aside from any charitable endeavors.


  1. Buy a new house.

  2. Get each of us an actual new car.

  3. Pay off the college loans.

  4. Buy a time share in Disney World.

  5. Only fly first class for the rest of my life.

Five locations I would like to run away to:


  1. Main Street, Magic Kingdom.

  2. Ireland

  3. Maine (around Bar Harbor)

  4. Parvin State Park

  5. Squam Lake

Five bad habits: I've gotten rid of a lot of these in the last few years. I don't know how many I have left that I'm willing to admit to.


  1. I drive too fast.

  2. I can be very sarcastic.

  3. I'm something of a hypochondriac.

  4. I'm addicted to cheap DVDs.

  5. I still consider myself a smoker, and I always want a cigarette, even though I generally don't have any.

Five things I like doing:


  1. Writing.

  2. Shopping for bargains.

  3. Accomplishing a goal I set for myself.

  4. Talking (or emailing) with friends.

  5. Despite my crabbing about it, I love Thanksgiving (the good parts)

Five TV shows I like: All-time or current?


  1. Star Trek: The Next Generation - all-time

  2. The Odd Couple - all-time

  3. Gilmore girls - current

  4. Lost - current

  5. The Simpsons - both

Five famous people I would like to meet: for various reasons


  1. Patrick Stewart

  2. Bill Clinton, I think

  3. George Bush, possibly. Just to see if he's for real.

  4. Paul McCartney

  5. J.K. Rowling

Biggest joys in my life at the moment: Although my life is relatively stress-free at the moment, I wouldn't say it's especially joyful. "Biggest joys" would be a bit strong for me. So it's a list of things that I've enjoyed recently, or that have made me happy.


  1. The show I saw yesterday, Spamalot, was really funny and I laughed a lot. I was also delighted that I wasn't having any trouble hearing most of it.

  2. My trip to D.C. a couple of weeks ago, going alone on the train and spending the time with K, was great. I felt good about going, and I had a great time there.

  3. I like feeling that I'm taking care of myself, and doing things that are good for me (although for all I know, it could be all in vain.) I'm not losing weight, but I'm eating properly and getting a decent amount of exercise.

  4. Of course, I am glad that the Psycho is no longer my boss, and that I have no plans whatsover to attend her retirement dinner.

  5. For a gadget person like myself, it's generally a good time to be alive. (See toys, next)

Five favorite toys: little girl toys or big girl toys?


  1. View Master: little girl

  2. computer: big girl

  3. iPod: big girl

  4. The Lie Detector Game: little girl

  5. digital hearing aids: big girl

Five people to tag: Go ahead and do it if you like! I'm no good at confrontation.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here