the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

It's Rant-Free Friday 848

08.19.2005

6:10 pm

I'm working on a nice little rant, but the pictures are still on my phone, except for the one old snapshot I haven't found yet, so it'll have to wait for a bit.

I'm very sleepy today, which is probably not a good sign for the new medication I'm taking. But I only have enough through Sunday anyway; I guess by then I'm supposed to know if it's working well or not. I did sleep all night last night, which is a good thing.

This is how close I got to exercising today: when I got up, I put on a sports bra. I just could not make myself get up and go. Meanwhile, the girls are getting excellent laugh mileage out of this one:

R to K: "Did you see those sticks in the back of the car?"

K: "What are they?"

R: "They're mommy's walking sticks!"

And a good time was had by all.

While K was out getting a hair cut earlier today, R and I went to Whole Foods before, where we ran into my nephew, whom I have always referred to here as J2. But now that he's living close by, and may crop up here more often, I have a new diary name for him: Sweet J. I heart Sweet J. He is just the nicest guy there is, and just running into him at the supermarket made my day. He's a delightful human being, and really, always has been. It was my good fortune to hold him in the car on the way home from the hospital after he was born, and I've been a fan ever since. He's ... 28, I guess. Love him. We're going to try to go and visit him and his girlfriend in their new apartment tomorrow afternoon. And I love the idea of just running into him -- or her -- anywhere in town.

It's a slow world today, folks. I'm not groggy, but I wouldn't describe what I am as with it. But not bummed or anything. I just feel like I could use a good nap.

Have you ever been watching Gilmore girls and you just want to reach over to the TV and slap Rory hard, right in the head? Oh sorry, just having a moment.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here