the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Updating for the Day 854

08.24.2005

7:19 pm

I'm still working on the Great Big Yiddish entry. More words keep popping into my head throughout the day, but because I'm so old, by the time I get back to the computer, I've forgotten what they were. Tomorrow, perhaps.

I spent a few hours at school today, which was good; it wasn't too hot and I caught up with the Colleague, who was away for a few days visiting one of her children down south. I got some paperwork straightened out and got the list of incoming freshmen ready for putting into the circulation system and the I.D. card system. They had also cleaned the carpets, so I had to take my chair and garbage bin down off my desk, and look for all my papers and things that I had left there neatly but they had moved. I'll bet there are still jelly beans on the floor under the desk.

You know, the library a/c is permanently broken down and when it's hot, it's really ghastly there, so some genius whose salary is paid by my taxes ordered two, count'em, two portable air conditioners. Only one of them is set up. Each of them looks pretty much like the robot on Lost in Space, with two long arm-like protuberances that reach up to the window, where they vent out, or drip condensation, or whatever they do. For some reason, some other genius whose salary is paid by my taxes thought it would be best to install this monster on one of the tables that exists for the sole purpose of holding a laser printer; the two printers are now jammed together onto the second table (with junk lying across them.) The a/c unit works very, very well, in one sense; it sends out a blast of cold air, right out of the top of it, but it does not distribute the air at all. So the upshot is that it's a great little device if you're standing right smack in front of it and happen to be eight feet tall. My, what a bargain. And in the meantime, they plugged it in to a circuit that was installed specifically to handle the power needs of the laminating machine, which blew out a fuse when the Colleague tried to use it, because the a/c took all its power away. No laminating until it gets cold again, I guess.

Once again, I felt all kinds of victorious this morning because I walked briskly to a video for 30 minutes. Well, go me. They say that all you need is a 30 minute walk three or four times a week, so I'm good there.

I've been emailing back and forth with the Chum in Maine ... well, all summer, but for the last hour, we've been cris-crossing each other. When is she coming hooooooome?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here