the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Update From the Front and the Homefront 859

08.28.2005

4:50 pm

I'm just hanging out being spacey -- I went to the supermarket this morning and got the definite feeling that driving was not for me today, between the anesthesia yesterday and the headache today I couldn't take anything for -- so I've spent the day just here, mostly by myself, as the Hubs went in to the office and R went to visit a friend. Didn't do much, either, but at least I'm not eating everything in sight.

I'm going to post part of a newsletter I just received from that former student who's in Iraq now, partly in response to a request that I do so, but more, I think, because I am in some awe of him. I know there are people who sincerely believe that supporting the troops while being opposed to the war is an inconsistency that cannot be resolved, but it makes perfect sense to me. I have tremendous respect for those who are serving in the military, and that is completely separate from my political beliefs. My correspondent does make the occasional political statement, which is fine by me and his right to do. I can't post anything political on the school website, and what I put here is basically what I put there, just with his name removed. (I remove any place names from his newsletter before I post it on the school website, too.) But each time I see something from him in my inbox, I look forward to the day when he comes to visit the high school in his full uniformed glory and is welcomed as the returning hero he is, along with all the others who are there. Better he should be here, and honored as he should be, than there.

Update - 27 AUG 05

Hello all -

It has been a couple of weeks filled with ups and downs. As for the ups, last week culminated with the re-enlistment of one of my soldiers. He was the second soldier in my platoon to re-enlist within the week ... It is great to see some quality soldiers who want to remain in the military because all too often the opposite is the case - soldiers cannot wait to get out! I feel their pain as being deployed is no walk in the park, especially when you know you will be back again shortly, but I respect each person to make their own decision and choose what is best for them. Everyone has their own unique circumstances to deal with and I am just happy these soldiers were able to make the decisions they made and
continue to give continuity and battlefield experience to the new soldiers we will be getting when we return.

[Some of his men were assigned to a patrol base near a city.]

My guys weren.t so happy about being at the patrol base ... because it is not really built up all that well and is not a permanent living structure but it is where they needed to be. I went to stay there with them on Tuesday and they already went on an emplacement mission the night before. We went on another two missions there, one on Tuesday night and on
Wednesday night. Although we have an up-armored 1114 HUMVEE for our guys to use, the unit at the patrol base is a mechanized infantry unit which means they have Bradley Infantry Fighting Vehicles so we rode in the Bradley's. It is a
bumpy and hot ride but is also incredibly safe. What would normally tear up an up-armored HUMVEE would do very little damage to a Bradley, maybe throwing its track or something else that would only take but a few hours to fix. As of yet, the insurgency has not found a consistent attack against the Bradley's that take the vehicles out. It may happen in the future but we have not seen that yet.

Being at the patrol base was not too bad, although I understand why soldiers do not like to spend all their time there! The living quarters are very tight and there is not any running water. They have water delivered to them when they make supply runs to the patrol base so they have very limited hours in the day that you can use the water. They get hot dinner delivered to them every other day and that was certainly worth waiting for! When I went out there on Tuesday
I brought them a huge footlocker full of food that I have received since I have been at [headquarters] and they really appreciated it - after spending three days there, I know I have to keep bringing them something to eat! It is not the
best situation, but it is needed and a necessary evil. The unit there does not mind because they are infantry and see a lot of action in the city which is their job - their main mission in the city is to find and detain/destroy the AIF and other insurgents. They do that on a daily basis but not every unit has that mission; most units in the Army spend their days supporting the "trigger pullers" as they are sometimes referred to.

I got back last night from the patrol base and will be out there every now and again. My guys will be there for a while so I will keep up with them. I haven't had the chance to see them much because they have been deployed all throughout the area of operations so I am glad I have the chance now to get out there and see them doing their job.

All my best--

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Roseanne
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here