the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

A Lost Day 858

08.27.2005

6:25 pm

Yes, yes, I've been endoscoped, and since no one said to me "Hey, you better stay in the hospital for a while!" I presume they found no glaring abnormalities, and I will hear from the doctor in a few days. Most likely, he'll put me on antibiotics for the h. pylori thing, which is why I got sent for the test in the first place.

Otherwise, I didn't have time to do anything before, and I haven't done anything since but eat and sleep. They actually made me sign something in the hospital before I left promising not to drive today. I feel completely fine, except that I've been eating with abandon all afternoon (outside of the two hour nap) and I'm stuffed. I'm not used to that anymore.

The good news is that I've just discovered that there's a Spencer Tracy marathon on The Turner Classic Movie channel today, and I just stumbled on Woman of the Year, to be followed by Adam's Rib and then Desk Set. Three of my all-time favorite movies! I just love Tracy-Hepburn movies (up until now, the marathon was just Tracy), and these are the three best (although Guess Who's Coming to Dinner? certainly has its moments, but not in the same way.) If you've never seen any of them, not that I can pick just one, but Desk Set is about a librarian -- Hepburn -- facing possible automation of her information system by a computer expert -- Tracy. It has somehow become oddly more relevant over time rather than less. Don't miss the "rare tropical fish" line; it's the best.

Okay, I'm going to veg on the couch now.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Woman of the Year
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here