the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Fine, And Yours? 868

09.06.2005

8:20 pm

Back at work. About two-thirds of the way through the SoS's endless meeting, the Chum turned to me and said "Okay, let's go," and we did. Back at the high school, we encountered maybe a half dozen others who had similarly blown the meeting off. Hee.

The there was the high school's endless meeting, at which I was number 8 on an agenda of 9, and I was called up to speak at noon, which was supposed to be the beginning of lunchtime. Let me tell you, I can talk fast when I need to.

Up in the library, we were having numerous electrical problems, not to mention a whole lot of English textbooks still left there over the summer. The circulation program doesn't work. But it was nice to see a lot of the folks at school. We have a new instrumental music teacher for strings who, it so happens, was my kids' violin teacher when they were litttle (she's only new to the high school) and she specifically came to see me to ask how the girls are and give them a hug and kiss from her. Since they had given me a similar message for her (I saw her name on the list of new teachers), it was a lovely meeting. The girls were very fond of her, and I remember seeing how she was with all the kids at their little shows and I thought she was a sweetheart then.

I woke up at 3 am, so I'm just walking -- and typing -- in my sleep now. When I got home, I did battle with the flies, and so far, so good. Thanks, everyone, for your ideas and suggestions. My favorite was Fi's, because it looked like the one most likely to work, but unfortunatley, vegemite is hard to come by in these parts. (As I hear that peanut butter, that staple of the American diet, is hard to come by almost anyplace else.) But I did a little research, and there seems to be a British food that is similar, but not the same, called marmite, and I know a supermarket nearby that sells British food, so that may be my next step. The only thing is, after reading their website, now I think it would be cool to try some vegemite. (For me, not the flies.) Further exploration may turn some up; there is an international foods place relatively close by. In fact ... hmmm, not a bad idea, now that I think of it.

After my fly battle -- or during, actually, since I left the kitchen draped in dropcloths and then sprayed and got out -- R and I went to Red Lobster where I ate my weight in food. I even had a real root beer and one of their excellent biscuits. It was glorious.

And speaking of bugs, Norton says I have spyware but Spybot says the computer is clean. Norton isn't willing to do anything about it, but it says it's there. I don't doubt it, actually; I went to a website the other day and a weird thing popped up and now it's telling me that a file with the name of that website is the problem.

I have post-its all over my desk here, and they're starting to annoy me. I forgot to go the the bank today between school and going to the doctor for bloodwork (to check that pesky estrogen level again), and I have to tape something for K on Thursday night and then there's the other one that just says "VEGEMITE!" so I don't forget to go look for it. And there's a Clinique bonus at Bloomingdale's; I'm a sucker for those even though I'm not a Bloomies fan, but maybe I'll go.

But not tonight.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here