the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Just a Bit 871

09.09.2005

10:14 pm

So you know I'm still here and haven't been eaten by fruit flies. But it's late for me -- after 10:00! -- so I'll only write a little as I finish uploading last night's hour-long tacky teenage-based soap for K, who has a late class on Thursday.


The little dear. She's been told that she must email me when she gets back from class Thursday night, or sometime Friday, so I know she's alive, since her class gets out at 10:30 and then she has to take the metro and then walk a half mile, which, to tell the truth, freaks the hell out of me. Last night's email from 11:37 pm says "Oh, I didn't make it home. I died." Smartass. And yet I upload for her.

What else is there, other than I'm tired, it was hot at work, and the flies are after me? Oh, well, it was sure nice getting paid today, first time since June. And I met several adorable freshmen today, one of whom looked like a little mouse, all hair shaved close, and he looked just exactly like a boy I went to school with, so I looked at the kid's last name and thought "Damn!" and I asked him "Is your dad's name Michael?" and there we were. I know of at least one other freshman, a girl, whose dad was a good buddy of the Hubs' when they were kids, but I haven't met her yet. Odds her she's a red-head, if genetics means anything.

So I put my two-week old backup onto a new flash drive, and re-created my most important file from hard copy today. As for the rest, we'll see. I wonder if I can really remember to try to back the flash drive up every day. I doubt it, since this afternoon I got halfway home and realized I had left it plugged in to the computer at work, and had to go back for it. (This is after forgetting my lunch this morning, and having to go home for it after the initial rush of I.D. card picture taking before first period. Good thing I live close by.)

Haircut tomorrow morning

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dateline
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here