the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Am So, You Know, Evolved 870

09.08.2005

9:15 pm

This must be a measure of how grown up I am, or else how I've finally learned not to give a shit about things that are relatively unimportant in the grand scheme, although five minutes earlier I would have said "If anything ever happened to ..., I wouldn't know how to live!" or some such stupidity.

The flash drive that holds every single important file I use for work, including the entire school website, just simply ceased to function mid-morning today. I had used it earlier, on three different computers, in fact, so, surprise for me! Did I have a backup? A two week old backup on my computer at home. It ain't good, but it'll have to do. The website files are, after all, on the website, so I can download them back, as long as I can remember which ones I've changed in the last couple of weeks. The others that I've been working on since then ... oh, well.

Tomorrow begins the process of creating I.D. cards for roughly 400 people, which should stretch out over the next couple of weeks, but the first day is always busy. Which is only unfortunate because it chains me to my desk and I really want to get to work on the fiction section, but it'll have to wait.

I was getting my nails done before -- it's still a very weird thing for me to do, let alone say -- and a girl R's age whom I've known all her life (her mother and I were pregnant together) came in, so I had a lovely visit and chat. She's also a former member of my Scout troop; she and R traveled together with Scouts a few times. Such a great kid; she got married three weeks ago and is teaching fourth grade in the Bronx. She told me about a very exciting program that starts you teaching in New York City and subsidizes your masters in education, which is what she did, and I sent the link along to K. Even if she doesn't want to do it, she has a good pal whose goal in life is to teach in New York City, so she can pass the info along to him.

Ahhhhh ... the hour is growing late now, it's past 9:00. And I'm still awake. I don't know how I'm doing it, but if I go to bed now I'll just wake up at four, or worse. Holding on ... holding on ...

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here