the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

The Battle Is Over 873

09.11.2005

7:25 pm

They won.

There are far fewer flies now, but I'm just not dealing with it anymore. Ingrid suggested cider vinegar, and she was right on the money; I poured some into a cup and they loved it, but weren't getting trapped there. This morning, I suggested to that person with whom I exchanged vows 28 years ago that he might devise an effective trap of some sort, because he is better at that kind of thing than I am. Twenty minutes later, there was a very ingenious device, half-filled with cider vinegar, on the counter.

He couldn't have done this last week? He had to wait to be asked?

So now I'm torn between being totally pissed off at him and glad that his trap is working and there are less flies. It's the razor's edge.

I was able to re-assemble my kitchen, finally, and that is so wonderful. I had things on the kitchen table, other stuff sitting in laundry baskets on the living room couch, whatever. And now I close the book on the flies. Never more.

R and I went up to the outlet mall in New York this morning, Woodbury Common, which used to be a dinky collection of a Carter's outlet and about five other stores -- I bought baby clothes for her there -- and now is huge and sprawling and oh so upscale. We looked at Coach bags, heh heh heh, and then I got underwear at the Hanes outlet. She got a couple of things to wear to work. It's only about an hour from New York City, and they run bus tours up there; it's also not far from several enclaves of Orthodox Jewish folk, so Sunday afternoons it's mobbed. But we were back on the road by a quarter to twelve, so it was a good trip, nice walking around in the crisp air.

I didn't really bother with my new haircut this morning, so it'll be interesting to see if I can get it to look remotely like I want it to in the morning. I'm also comtemplating coloring my hair again; now that I've realized that a full head of gray hair is not coming for twenty years, if that, I'd like highlights again. The problem is that my hair is so short that getting salon highlights is just foolish; two haircuts and they'd be gone. My hairdresser says I can do it myself. First I'd have to cover the gray and then do the highlights. I don't know if I'm up to that task, though, so now I can't decide. I guess I can always see how the gray-covering goes and then play it by ear. I just can't imagine getting the highlights in the right place. Ah, time will tell.

New Simpsons tonight, folks. I just love it when the new TV season starts; I always have.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching O.C. on DVD
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here