the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Stages 874

09.12.2005

7:56 pm

There are many stages in a mother's life, milestones, if you will. I remember when I realized that I never had to wash anyone else's hair anymore, and that was cool. When it occurred to me that I never had to talk to any of those idiots at the middle school. When we were really and truly finished with Girl Scouts.

Today I am the mother of one gainfully employed adult child. One out of two, that's okay. It's more than okay. I'm psyched. And she seems to have enjoyed it as well, which is nice. Unfortunately for her, she's still got her night job -- she runs pub trivia -- two nights a week, so she has to go out there tonight, but she's eager to give that up, and has a replacement all ready; it's just a matter of the guy who runs the whole business taking care of the details.

In other news, I'm working the I.D. card detail, and so far I'm up to two children of former classmates, one today that I went all through elementary school with, and I know there's at least one yet to come. What is wrong with all of us that we never had the imagination to move out of this town? And this is basically the third wave, since the first children of my classmates started coming through the school in the late 80s, and then mine and their ilk in the mid 90s, and now these.

I was just talking to the Sibs, and she says she's thinking of a Disney trip with her husband around Christmas. WAH! It's getting harder and harder to find someone to go with me, now that she's actually got a husband who travels (and pouts if she wants to travel with anyone else) and R has a real job and K, of course, is limited by her class schedule, not that I could take K and not R. And if I didn't take my own kids, then it'd only cost me for myself. I haven't been in four years, which is a record for me since I first went back in 87 or so. It's my favorite place in the world. I think I'll mention it to the Chum tomorrow; she's never been and has said that she knows she must experience it with me. The only problem there is that she doesn't like leaving her husband for days at a time since he had his bypass/passmaker a few years back. What is it with all these husbands, anyway? If the Chum isn't up for it, I may pursue the SIL option, since the Hubs' sister and I have said more than once that we both want to go but our husbands don't want to. We're seeing all the ILs in a week or two, so perhaps I shall run it by her.

I'm going to check the travel websites now.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here