the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Ohhh, I'm Melting! 877

09.15.2005

8:34 pm

Well, I figured out how to get my car from the dealership today, if not with a little extra spin on it. On the way home last night after dropping my car off, the Hubs mentioned that the inspection was probably expired on K's car, which I would of course be driving today. Thanks for the heads up! Both he and K drove it last month and didn't happen to notice the August inspection date, and it's been sitting in the garage since she went back to school. So I just swapped the two of them today and left hers for inspection, not to mention a new passenger-side mirror, which is in pieces.

Ah, the luxury fleet we drive.

It was like slogging through the Amazon around here today; the humidity was abominable, the heat in the library debilitating. The new principal wandered through this morning while I was teaching a class -- I really need a diary name for him -- so he got to see the place in full swing, not to mention full environmental flower.

I am finding the kids especially nice this year, and I'm not the only one saying that. The freshmen are just nice. At the GSA meeting today, we had two new freshmen members, and even they commented on how nice their classmates are. I do find that in general kids are not academically what they used to be, but possibly teachers have been saying that for the last 100 years, I don't know. It seems as if people are expecting to go for the quick Google hit and the subsequent obligatory A. They may get more homework, but I'm not seeing a whole lot of deep thought going into it, despite whatever time it takes. Again, I don't know.

Okay, I'm going to go let my brain melt into oblivion ...

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The O.C.
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here