the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

How's That, Again? 876

09.14.2005

4:37 pm

There was a student a few years back whose last name was strange. I mean, Strange. So when I had to ask him his name and I would ask the standard question: "And you are ...?" Strange, he would say. Today I met a boy whose last name is Hot. "And you are ... ?" Excuse me?

I took so many I.D. card pictures today that the camera finally shut down because it was full. I never even knew it would do that. It's a digital camera but part of the whole I.D. card system; I never thought about its memory capacity before because I never even came close to reaching it. I took over 80 pictures and had to turn away about 20 kids just after 3:00 because there was just no more room. I told them I would stay after on Friday, just for them. They waited 20 minutes or more, and I felt bad that I had to send them off without getting their pictures taken. I'll go in a little earlier this morning and print out the remaining pictures, so I can empty out the camera.

It was a balmy 90 at my desk today; the laptop I use for the I.D.s was hot to the touch, and I don't mean the bottom of it, the keyboard. I don't know that I've ever experienced that before, either.

So I left school late and walked in the door at home to the sight -- and delightful aroma -- of cat puke all up and down the runner rug in the living room. Eeuw. And those little miscreants were whining for food too. Hey, here's a hint: don't barf it up and you won't feel as empty.

And then a note from R (which she left this morning) asking if I want to pick up deli for dinner. Uh, no. I want to clean up cat vomit and drink some iced tea and cool off before I have to drop off my car for service. Long story there. But the Hubs is going to call me when he leaves work within the hour and meet me at the dealership so I can drop off my car to be re-inspected. It just occurred to me sitting here that I have no idea how I'm going to get my car back tomorrow. R doesn't get home until 6:30 or so and then is exhausted (because it's a job, duh) and the Hubs is teaching tomorrow night. Hmm. I once tried to get a taxi to the car dealership -- I think I did, finally --but it took about two hours for the taxi to come to my house. How ridiculous is that? I realize this isn't Manhattan, but they have cabs, even in the 'burbs. Old people need rides, if nothing else, and people go to the airport.

Looks like rain; haven't had any rain for awhile. I better go put on sneakers before the Hubs calls. If there's anthing I cannot stand, it's wearing sandals in the rain and my feet getting wet.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here