the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Sunday Recap 879

09.18.2005

6:56 pm

So I continue to be fine today, a little achy, as expected. When R got up this morning, she and I went to Target and Costco, all the classy joints, and then food shopping. We hit bizarre traffic on the way home: we were held at a stop for 20 minutes on a major highway, just off the George Washington Bridge, while a cavalcade of motorcycles, complete with motorcycle cops, roared by. (We later found out it was a fundraiser for a police officer in a nearby town with cancer.) We got home, ate lunch, and finally made it over to visit my nephew and his girlfriend in their new apartment. This is my nephew J2, whom I believe I have recently re-nicknamed Good Guy, but I'm not sure. I heart him. I heart his girlfriend as well.

My acquisition of the weekend is a DVD recorder, not on the computer, but a DVD/VHS recorder at the TV. This is what I got at BestBuy yesterday and had to return; I got a different one today at Costco. So far, so good. I think now that there may have been nothing wrong with the one yesterday other than poor directions, which would certainly make my highway accident on the way to return it just a bit more ironic. But this one is clearer, and I've recorded two test disks that seem to play back on every other computer and/or DVd player in the house. (Yesterday's would record and play back, but the disks wouldn't play back on other machines.) I'm sending both test disks off to K in the morning to see what works there, so I can record shows for her and just drop them in the mail next morning.

Every year, my school district holds two or three full-day in-service days for teachers, but since they want us out earlier this year in June for construction, they've eliminated one altogether and have oh-so-cleverly worked out an alternate plan for another one. (We still have one, in May.) What they're doing is extending faculty meetings three times during the year by two hours. Normally, a faculty meeting ends at 3:30. Tomorrow, we are there until 5:30. I am wondering how much clear thought they're really expecting from people. These happen to be department meetings, which I don't have, the SCM and I being a department of two who spend the day sitting less than ten feet from each other. I'm occupying myself tomorrow by going to each department to speak for five minutes or so about a variety of library things. Hopefully, they'll all be glad for the diversion and will not throw rotten vegetables at me. As for the next in-service afternoon in October, I think I feel a headache coming on.

It was a lovely day today, not especially humid, unlike the horrific days we've been having lately. I was all set to wear a skirt and sandals tomorrow, but now I'm not so sure. Must go check the weather, as if they know.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Pre-Emmy Show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here