the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Long Day 880

09.19.2005

7:40 pm

It was an insanely long day at work today, but I was busy almost every minute, so it didn't drag, at least. I went to a Dreaded Monthly Meeting at 1:00, which wasn't over until the bell rang at 2:35, and then went right into faculty meeting time, which lasted today from 2:35 too 5:30 (although we were let out at 5:15). Today was department meeting day, and I went to speak briefly to each department about the upcoming closing of the library and a variety of other things. I said the same thing ... six or seven times, I guess, within the allotted time. By the end, I had no idea what I was saying anymore. The last group -- world languages -- seemed pretty humorless, but it was five o'clock at that point, and I probably wasn't even funny anymore. I killed in the English department; they were very sweet today. They were rude in science, and were talking in little pockets while I was speaking. Which is behavior those same people would never tolerate in students. I rarely call for attention when I'm speaking to teachers; it alienates them, and I also figure that in a moment or two they will notice their own poor behavior and be ashamed. I rarely see evidence of that, although I always see in these situations that the ones who are quietly listening are embarrased by those who are not.

The new principal doesn't know yet where I'm going when the library closes, but he seems pretty adamant that it won't be the computer lab, which is fine by me because I never wanted to go there. That's where the Psycho always said we would go. Her retirement dinner is Wednesday night, btw, and way more people are not going than are going. You reap what you sow.

So when I went in this morning, I told the SCM [which stands for the Self-Centered Man, if you're new] about my car accident on Saturday and within 30 seconds he had turned it into a story about himself. He is one seriously weird character. I so did not want to get in to work early today because I hate just sitting there with him in the library before it opens and hearing about HIM, but I mis-calculated and there I was. I was relatively pissed at him all day. But I really was busy, between the I.D. cards and meetings and all kinds of things. I still can't seem to find the time to get my books on the shelves. Maybe tomorrow. Oh, there's standardized testing in the morning and the schedule's all messed up, so I can probably do books, check shelves and stuff. Sometimes it's a nice change to go back to the basics, do the mindless tasks that need to be done. Maybe I'll listen to music while I shelve, what a good idea.

And a new Arrested Development tonight! Yes, I am one of the four people in America who watches this award-winning show, and you should be too. It's the funniest damn thing on TV.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Will and Grace
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here