the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

One Step Back, Two Steps Forward 895

10.03.2005

4:53 pm

So today was Monday, go to work day, but there's no school Tuesday and Wednesday because of the Jewish holidays. We take that for granted here, but I guess it's not the same everywhere. My sister's school, which is not far away, is a city school, and the city's once quite large Jewish population is no more, and they only get one day off. I have no particular plans, except maybe to go have lunch with R one of the days. Certainly, I do not observe religious holidays as such, which is a tradition in my family that goes back generations.

[But for those who do, L'shana tova tikoseva, which is actually Hebrew, I understand, and roughly means Happy New Year, the traditional Rosh Hashonah greeting.]

That new W8 Watchers commercial just came on. The first time I heard it, I turned to R and said "Who is that, Cher?" and she looked at me as if I had lost my mind. Finally, she said "Who else sounds like that?" Uh ... got a point there.

I still haven't heard much about her show Saturday night other than it went well. She was too tired when she got home to say much; she'd been in the city almost round the clock since Friday night and didn't get home until late Sunday afternoon. She did say that somebody commented that they thought she was one of the regulars, and not one of the students. So that sounds good.

My eldest nephew called on Saturday; when I mentioned it to his mother on Sunday, she said "Oh? What did he want?" because, dude. 31 years and we both know him well. I believe he's only called me once without asking for something, and I kept waiting for the other shoe to drop until he hung up. This does not, in fact, diminish his charm, which he has in spades. Turns out he's coming east in a couple of weeks -- he lives in San Diego -- to go to a friend's wedding, and he's wondering if we have a spare car he can borrow. Well, we do, which he knows. K's coming home this weekend, which means her car will be available a week later. My dear boy, whom I'll call JJ instead of J1, is not exactly a material guy, which is good because he's learned to live at or below the poverty level in recent years (he only now has a real full-time job, as a substitute teacher); he owns and operates a car that is actually twenty-five years old. It's totally held together with duct tape, but it runs and he keeps it running somehow (certainly not with any mechanical knowledge of his own.) So if there's anything we know he can do, it's keep an old junker safe, so I guess K's car will be safe with him. (If we had a spare new car, however, I probably wouldn't want him as a passenger.) It will also be good to see him, as doing so is always an experience. And pretty much always was, since birth. But it would be awfully hard to take him on a full-time basis. California is an excellent place for him.

More from the world of commercial TV; this was just on and it always makes me giggle. It's a commercial from an energy company; they would like you to ditch the oil burner in your house and replace it with clean-burning gas heat. There's a catchy jingle that is clearly not meant to be funny; it's a perky yet smooth female voice that says Whatever, whatever, call 1-800-I've Got Gas! Heh heh heh. Each time I hear it, I think, I should have a number like that on speed dial.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here