the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

And, Not Suprisingly ... 899

10.06.2005

6:46 pm

When I went to set myself up with the Jenny people this afternoon (since they had to change my Saturday appointment), the woman who got to weigh me and take a picture of me and *gasp!* take my measurements was ... all together now:

A former student.

Will this never end? I repeat, the day I go to a new gynecologist and she exclaims "Oh, hi, Mrs. Chai, remember me?" I'm moving to New Zealand.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to this whole thing; it looks like a ton of food to eat every day and I totally don't see how this will lose weight off me, but at the same time, I'm confident that it will. I'm going to start it on Monday, since K is coming home for the weekend and I'd like to eat a meal or two with her while she's here. In the meantime, I've got all kinds of little booklets to read and stuff to work out, not that I don't have an actual printed meal plan for the week, but it needs a little tweaking. I guess most people don't have lunch at 11:10 in the morning (unless they're also teachers with first lunch) so I can bump that morning snack up until later. Okay, enough of that.

The principal asked me today if I'd lead a tour for a reunion group in a few weeks, but I passed on this one. These are people who never bothered to ask, or even notify the high school that they were having a reunion -- a 45th, it's the class of 1960 -- and that's just strange. Turns out there isn't even a football game that day; laugh's on them.

Today was about the stupidest day at work ever, although I expect tomorrow to surpass it. The guidance department commandeered thw whole library all morning to give make-up state tests, so we were closed down until the end of first lunch. They shut down the whole library to test seven kids. And then they finished an hour and a half early, but I couldn't open because the SCM was out and they hadn't assigned anyone to cover while I was at lunch. Now tomorrow, same plan, SCM out and closed all morning. Except I put in for a half personal day for the afternoon to get K at the train. And the SCM is just calling in sick (although he went away for the week) so I have to go in in the morning and look all surprised and say "Oh, he's out again? What will we do?" even though I know exactly what they'll do and I already made the sign for the door. Stupid, stupid day.

Okay, I've put it off but now it's time to go obsess over my new food plan for awhile. *rubs hands together in evil glee*

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here