the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

But Saturdays Are Supposed to Be Fun! 901

10.08.2005

1:23 pm

Or aggravation-free, at least. Maybe not; I'm sure that back when the kids were little, Saturdays were as stress-filled as any other day. But I'm not used to that anymore.

I slept totally weird somehow, and woke up around four with my neck all stiff and sore. I didn't do anything, honest; I was asleep! I was still too groggy to figure out where a heating pad might be, so I took some advil and tried to sleep more, but not with much success. I know I slept a little somewhere in there because I had a dream that I was taking a lot of people out to dinner and when it was over, my credit card got rejected. So, not a happy dream.

I woke up and found a heating pad, had breakfast, etc., and went outside to shuffle cars around, putting K's on the street so I could go to the cleaners. That's when I saw that they hadn't put a new inspection sticker on her car when I had it inspected last month, so she'd be driving around all day with an expired sticker, never a good idea. I called the dealer where I'd had it done, and I was told, Oh, what are the odds that she'll get stopped today? WTF? So I went over there in my car and got a statement that it was, indeed, inspected (since they don't issue stickers on Saturday) and I'll have to take it back during the week for the real thing. It's not like there's any way that they can defend this; I took the car in to have one thing done and they didn't do the whole job. Case closed. If she gets a ticket today (which I doubt), they'd better pay for it.

R's in the city again today, so it's me and K, except that she's at the mall now for a little bit, so I think I'll take a nap. Last night the three of us went out to dinner and then watched the Degrassi season premiere, and it was great having both of them here, just like old times.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching MASH
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here