the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Question of the Day 904

10.12.2005

3:52 pm

The SCM tells me that a boy asked him this morning:

"I don't feel like going home to check. Is there anyplace on the Internet I can see if there's water in my basement?"

Uh ... okay.

If you see on the news that there's flooding in New Jersey, they keep showing Oakland, which is about 20 minutes away from me. There's a part of Oakland that was once a resort community and it's right on the river and floods when someone spits on the sidewalk -- I looked at a house there 20 years ago; it smelled damp -- so this rain is washing them away. Here, it's just pouring, although I expect that parts of Bizarro Town will flood, since we're in between two rivers, but one of them is small and the other is small where it passes here, although a bit farther south it becomes the mighty Paterson Falls, whose force drew Alexander Hamilton to set up America's first industrial city in Paterson because of the available power. Well, that rambled.

Anyway, it's raining, and it's raining hard all week. Sinuses are practically exploding, alien-like, from people's faces, including mine. It's not a pretty sight.

I sought out my union association president this morning because I wanted to get her assurance that once the library closes, they can't just make us cover classes or do hall duty all day. She said that in fact, they can, although it's unlikely that they will, because, she said "You know I've got your back." In fact, I do not know that; I know that she's a good person with the best of intentions, but that she would sell out an individual for the good of the many, and I could be a bargaining chip in a bigger game. I mentioned to her, oh so casually, that I have almost thirty years of experience and seniority here and two fucking masters' degrees and I have no intention of being on permanent hall duty. She sympathizes, and that's about it. But the interesting thing she told me is the reason that I had no input into the new library. (The home ec. teacher -- this is her second year -- picked out all the appliances and everything else for the new foods room.) The reason is that the individual who had total control over all such things at the high school was, of course, my former principal, The Psycho. So there you have it. When she asked me for input, she threw it in the trash and made it seem like the higher-ups weren't listening to her, which was a lie from start to finish. She could have brought me in anytime she wanted, but she chose not to, because that was more fun for her, screwing over not just me personally, but the school in perpetuity by building a crappy library and heaven knows what else. It's her legacy, and baby, she wanted a legacy. It's just an evil one.

Must. Get. Past. This.

I'm actually better than I was yesterday, sinus headache notwithstanding. My stomach doesn't hurt anymore, which is the sign that I'm not letting the stress win, and that's what I want more than anything. I've also decided that when I retire, what I want to do is watch every movie I own, in alphabetical order, one after the other. But I'll watch the Disneys first. Tomorrow, since school is closed, I think I'm going to watch me a little Cinderella, which was my favorite "princess" movie until Beauty and the Beast. At least, it's the one that didn't scare the living crap out of me when I was a little kid (unlike a certain movie about a cursed princess and a prolonged sleeping experience and a little subplot about a DRAGON.)

[Later, at home]

I fired up the ark and drove home, amazed to see that there is no water in my basement. I'm going to go take a handful of advil (just kidding) and do that workout thing.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dr. Phil
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here