the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Uhhhh 908

10.17.2005

5:20 pm

My very first thought every morning when I wake up is "Ohhh, I'm so tired." That can't be good. Although it's only recently that I've come to realize that this is not supposed to be your first thought when you wake up, that people are supposed to feel "refreshed", whatever that means.

Anyway, I yawned my way through the day today, which was pretty boring except when there were actual classes in the library, which was only four out the seven periods that I was there. Busier tomorrow, which is better.

It was such a beautiful day today. I thought this morning that I should take a walk after school, and I really wanted to, to go to the park, but I ran into an iPod syncing problem and ended up only walking in my neighborhood. It was so windy though, and wind is my most hated weather condition, so I only walked for about fifteen minutes. I was listening to Vonnegut's newest book, which I forget the name of at the moment. Welcome to the family where we've all had our psyches molded by Kurt Vonnegut, although the Hubs and I had our epiphanies 35 years ago. The other day, he came home with the audiobook the same day R came home with the printed. I opted for the listening experience. He's mellowed some, but it's the same KV I grew up to.

The Nephew Who Borrowed Our Car is anticipated some time this evening, where we will be entertained, no doubt, by his essential on-ness. It's taken on a different quality in adulthood than it had when he was a child; then he was always on, always the center of attention in one way or another. He talked fast and performed constantly. He's very mellow now -- there's that word again -- and talks softly and much more slowly. It's more the nature of what he says now that entertains, although he is actually a performer, somewhat professionally if not financially succesfully; he writes music, plays and sings in a band of his own creation in San Francisco. But tonight we will no doubt talk politics and history, which is also a passion he shares with the members of this household. When he was growing up, his divorced father only saw him when it suited his purposes, and his step-father was 100% the wrong parent for him -- for anyone, really -- and the Nephew and the Hubs were quite close. Both nephews were also very, very close with my father; these were the two men who were their father figures. The Nephew and the Hubs share a lot of similar thinking, including that they are both fanciers of a variety of conspiracy theories. It should be an interesting evening.

I'm going to go have some dinner before the fireworks start.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here