the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Nobody's Listening, Right? 909

10.18.2005

6:52 pm

So the men in my life hashed out the state of the world, and they're probably right, but they're scary as hell. It always makes me nervous when the Hubs brings out his theory of how and when martial law is going to be declared so that the current ruling family can continue to do so ad infinitum. It would probably not surprise me, but that doesn't mean I'm looking forward to it. And the other one pointed out that we never see any pictures of the space station, so what are they really doing there, hmm? (He thinks they're manipulating the weather, or at least, he says that's what he thinks.) And we all realized that the prezzie's papa is actually eligible to run again, because he only served one term, so chew that one over.

Seriously. My father was a believer in a lot of this stuff, too, although he rarely talked about it, but that probably ignited the flame in the Nephew anyway. And the Hubs doesn't believe stuff that's really out there, like alien stuff, just in the inherent evil and greed in all politicians.


I just took the Real Age quiz that Suburban Island and Forty-Plus mentioned, and I must say, I'm not unhappy with the result. And I know this is because I take the medications I'm supposed to and do that stuff that generally takes care of me, and that if I had taken this test two years ago, the results would have been very, very different. My actual age is 52.8 and the test came out 54.0, which is only 1.2 years older than I am. All in all, not bad. If I had never smoked, it probably would have been closer, but since I don't actually regret smoking, no problem there. It's still just an Internet test, but it was interesting.


The rest of this week is crazy. Tomorrow I have a nail appointment at 3:30, which should take about an hour, maybe more, and then a Coffee House for GSA, which I have to be at, with three dozen munchkins, no later than 6:30. And eat a Jenny dinner somewhere in between. And when I get home, watch the Lost that R will have recorded. Then Thursday night is Back to School night, a total waste for me, since no students are assigned to the library this year, so we expect no parents to show up. But a late night out just the same. It's so creepy to be in school at night.

Okay, so that's two days that are crazy; it just seems like the rest of the week. If I had a brain, I'd change the nail appointment to Friday, but to tell the truth, it's very relaxing to just sit there and have this rather luxurious thing done to you. Kind of like forced relaxation, an oxymoron if ever there was one.

I'm still reeeally tired, which I don't suppose if going to improve in the short-run. Whatever. Time for a Jenny cake.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here