the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

In My Perfect World 922

11.02.2005

5:31 pm

This is not so much a meme as it is a collection of thoughts loosely inspired by the meme that summer-gale did yesterday.

In My Perfect World ...

... my glasses would never get dirty.
... I wouldn't mind wearing glasses, but when I take them off, I would still be able to read.
... no one would ring my doorbell on Halloween.
... my mother-in-law would never give me pink sweaters for Christmas.
... when I go on a diet, I would lose weight.
... research would confirm what I have always believed, that exercise is bad for you.
... no one would ever tell me long, rambling pointless stories unless they actually were funny.
... there would always be heat indoors when it's cold outside, and vice-versa.
... there would only ever be heavy snowstorms on days that no one in my family had to go anywhere.
... the one supermarket closest to my house would always have shelves full of whatever I was looking for.
... bad guys would never win.
... people who do website work for me to upload would actually understand website file structure and file-naming conventions.
... computers would never freeze.
... plants would not wither and die at my touch.
... there would be no reruns on TV, just new episodes of everything, and they would be on when they're supposed to be, baseball or no baseball.
... my house would clean itself. (Corollary: My cats would never throw up or miss the litter box.)
... someone else in my house would clean something once before I die.
... prescription refills would simply appear in my house at the appropriate times.
... dry-cleaning would drop itself off and pick itself up.
... the maxillary sinus cavity as we know it would cease to exist.
... I could hear both parts of the stereo in one ear.
... coffee would not have a diuretic effect on me and I would drink it all day long.
... the color that actually looks best on me would not be pink.
... home-made pie would always be a "free" food.
... I would sleep through the night and never wake up for my 2:00 feeding.
... people would stop ramming into the back of my car.
... children would grow up and move out on their own but they would never move far away.
... DisneyWorld would be an hour away from where I live. Less than an hour.
... there would be a new Harry Potter book, and a new movie, out every year. Until the end of time.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here