the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Entry/No Entry 926

11.06.2005

7:08 pm

I was just surprised when I was looking at my buddy list and saw that I hadn't updated since last night. I was surprised because I wrote two entries earlier today but chose not to post either one. They were both more about Murrow and McCarthy, but I read over last night's entry and decided that it really already said everything I wanted or needed to say. If it was somewhat inaccessible for those who are not of the American persuasion, well, I am going to write about politics and history and such from time to time, and I am who I am and I live where I live. I can't write from another perspective because this is the only one I've got.

Which leaves me with the sense that I've written today, because I have, just nothing postable. It was a quiet day, just doing little things in the house here and there while I mostly listened to a big chunk of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire so that I can feel more familiar with the story when I see the movie. See, I'm not just political, I'm a popular culture whore. I have a feeling that when K comes home on the Tuesday before Thanksgiving, we'll be driving directly from the train station to the movie theatre.

I officially lost about a pound this week, which may not be much, but since it's better than not losing a pound, I'm happy with it. I think this weight is going to come off very slowly, for some metabolism-menopausal related reason, so, whatever. My goal at the moment is to lose another ten pounds by my birthday, which is in January, so that should be pretty achievable. It's the exercise I don't want to do; that stuff'll kill you.

I've got a three-day work week coming up, which I mentioned the other day when I was being a petty, cranky bitch about my best friend, but the three-day week is nice. I have absolutely no plans for the days off, either, except to get the cats groomed, which doesn't so much involve me except for the driving and the waiting. I'll probably get Harry finished, anyway.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Who Framed Roger Rabbit?
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here