the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Nothing Better Than a Day Off 929

11.10.2005

8:03 pm

It was very, very relaxing.

It started off with a chuckle for me. I never actually sleep late, but when I don't have to get up by 6:00 am for work, I stay in bed, drifting in and out of sleep, for as long as I can. I knew R had to be up for work today by 7:30 -- her last day at the old job, yay! -- and I heard her get up and talk to the cat, but I wanted to be lazy, so I stayed in bed, dozing. I got up a few minutes before 8:00, and was she relieved! She said she's never seen me sleep this late, and if I hadn't been up by 8:00, she would have come in to see if I was okay! HAH! I still get anxious when my kids oversleep, as if they were babies and I had to keep checking to be sure they were breathing. What goes around comes around, I guess.

I got bunches of little tasks done, including a couple of Christmas gifts, a new chairpad for my desk chair, a few groceries. I still had the Hubs' car today (formerly my father's car) because mine is still in the shop, and the rubber gasket around the windshield on the other one was loose and I was going to take it to be fixed. Imagine my surprise when it turned out that the auto glass place I remembered wasn't there anymore. So I looked in the phone book, which is something I haven't done in ages because I usually just go to Yahoo or Google local, but the phone book was the way to go. I called the Glass Doctor -- "We fix your panes" -- and a guy came in a truck in a half hour and fixed it right in my driveway, and for not a lot of money.

The only goofy thing after that was that the corner of the windshield where he had fixed it was all taped down, so I couldn't open the driver's side door. Fortunately, this is an old car -- I'm thinking a '91, but I'm not sure at the moment -- and there is no center console, so sliding in from the other side was do-able. It was a little complicated when I had to take the cat out to be groomed, sliding in with the carrier on my lap and so forth, but it was amusing, anyway.

K called before, all upset, which she hasn't done in some time, so that's a plus. She's having a bad day, class-wise and cramps-wise, but it seemed to her that her computer wasn't working, either. Turns out her Internet connection is bad, and there's no customer service number on her bill, just email addresses. Uh, duh. Several phone calls later -- to me -- I looked up her provider's website and found a number, but I don't know if it'll get her anywhere. How do you use email-only customer service when you have no internet connection?

I've been very good about not snacking today. The reduced fat Wheat Thins are The Devil, but I ran out last night and didn't buy any today, so that helps. But it's time for my officially sanctioned Jenny snack now, a chocolate chip snack bar which is totally delish, so I'm just posting and then I get to eat.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The O.C.
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here