the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I'm Losing Track 928

11.09.2005

3:55 pm

Did I write yesterday at all? I meant to, and I know I started to, but I don't think I wrote anything worth posting, so I didn't.

I was busy yesterday afternoon, picking up cars and making phone calls and such, and then I went to Ikea with R to get something she had to pick up for the new job place. After that it was K on the phone, then the Sibs, then good TV all night. So that sounds all nice, and it was, and I didn't get time to post.

School, on the other hand ...

I know that you (which is to say, anyone left still reading this crap) are sick of my bitching about where I work. I am not only sick of it myself, I am sick of it giving me cause to. That having been said, I am wondering if I have some sort of target painted on my ass. Get this one:

One of the late-twentyish something teachers has some sort of bone to pick with the library. I think his problem is our very existence, but we can't be sure because he doesn't talk to us about it. In fact, he never comes into the library, either on his own or with any of his classes, although he is a teacher of history, which is the academic department that generally has the greatest research needs. Anyway, about two weeks ago, he sent two kids in here to interview me for "a class project." Until they were done, they didn't tell me that the project was about muckraking, and the assignment was to find something wrong in the school and investigate it and, basically, rake up muck about it. The teacher had sent them to the library because he thinks it's just wrong that the library isn't open later every day and that we -- the librarians -- don't have to work a couple of hours more every day than everybody else.

Well, shit. This extended hours thing has come up before and we've finally gotten it settled down. Keep the damn library open all night, for all I care, but hire someone else to be there. I already work a full day. So I went to see this asshole after school that day, had a lovely collegial chat with him and asked him not to let the issue go any further because it might have negative implications for us. He was very nice, said oh no, it was just an assignment and would be over the next day and it wouldn't go any further.

So, this Monday, at his department meeting with his supervisor there, he carried on and ranted about the library hours and how he can't believe that the librarians are even covered under the teachers' contract because we have the easiest job in the school and don't do anything anyway and shouldn't be paid the same or have the same hours.

Consequently, yesterday sucked. Not that I was all bummed and depressed about this, because I wasn't. (But I was a mess two weeks ago when this first came up.) I think it really bothered the SCM though, enough so that minutes after we found out about it from a friend in that department, who asked us not to discuss it with anyone else, he discussed it with the first history teacher who walked in the door. He didn't tell me that he'd done that, though; he told the Colleague who called him on it.

The weird thing is that the SCM is out today (which I can understand) but he didn't email either the Colleague or me to let us know ahead of time. That is most unusual, and we haven't heard from him all day. (He did call in his absence to the main office, however.) Now we're just hoping that he's okay and not having some sort of medical crisis, because he over-reacts to stress like crazy and has high blood pressure. I was pissed at him for not calling when I got in this morning and found him not here, but now I'm worried.

I sent off an email to the asshole's supervisor before, outlining the whole situation somewhat dispassionately and asking him to please just make the guy stop talking about it in public. Crap, let him believe whatever the hell he wants, and even talk about it privately if he has to -- he can get his own online journal if he wants -- but be a man, for god's sake and stop whining like a playground bully that he doesn't like the way we're looking at him and he's gonna pound us for that.


Later.

I'm home. I checked every conceivable email address I have, and there, in one account that I haven't used for nearly two years, was the message from the SCM that he was going to be out today. Well, thanks. He knows I don't use that one, because he's already emailed me this year at the right one. He typed in the Colleague's address wrong, too. Well, at least he's not dead.

No school the rest of the week, for which I am most grateful. I have nothing planned. Ahhhhh.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dr. Phil
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here